Find Out if You Should Eat Cheerios on a Gluten-Free Diet

A box of cereal is one thing you’re likely to find in every American home. It makes a great option for breakfast especially when you’re in a pinch. Cheerios are one of the families’ favorite cereals. But there are doubts about its gluten-free status. Cheerios lovers want to know if they are gluten-free.

The gluten-free status of Cheerios is not so certain because some of them are gluten-free while some are not. Some celiacs prefer to stay off the cereals and go for a surer gluten-free alternative. If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you know better than biting on just anything for the sake of it.

This article takes a look at Cheerios cereal. Ahead, there are answers to questions you have probably asked yourself about this delicious cereal.

What Are Cheerios?

Cheerios are cereals made from whole grain oats. They have the shape of a solid torus, one of the reasons why kids love to eat cheerios. In the United States and Canada, this cereal is manufactured by General Mills. In other countries, Cheerios are marketed under the nestle brand.

The breakfast cereal is low in calories and fat but provides the body with fiber, calcium, and many vitamins and minerals. In addition, it has a low sugar content, only one gram of sugar.

Furthermore, eating Cheerios can help lower cholesterol and reduce the risk of getting heart disease.

Are Cheerios Gluten-Free?

Cheerios are made from gluten-free oat grains. However, there is no third-party certification that declares the cereals gluten-free. Some of them are gluten-free, while others are not.

The manufacturing company says that they do everything possible to eliminate the cross-contamination of the oats with gluten grains like wheat, barley, and rye. Furthermore, General Mills says that they ensure that the oats used in cheerios meet the FDA recommendation of <20ppm gluten.

Are Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten-Free?

Yes, Honey Nut Cheerios are gluten-free. General Mills affirms that the cereal has less than 20ppm gluten. It is, therefore, safe for celiacs and people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS).

Are Chocolate Cheerios Gluten-Free?

Chocolate Cheerios cereals are gluten-free. General Mills puts a gluten-free seal on the pack, confirming that it meets the FDA’s recommended <20ppm gluten in gluten-free food.

SEE: Get a Chance to Win a $100 Gift Card at Aldi Food Store

Are Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheerios Gluten-Free?

The Chocolate Peanut but Butterter Cheerios doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients, artificial flavors, or artificial colors. But it is not 100% safe for people with gluten sensitivity.

Moreover, the company doesn’t put a gluten-free claim on the pack. This is because Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheerios are not processed in an exclusive gluten-free system. So, there is a risk of cross-contamination with gluten grains.

Are Multigrain Cheerios Gluten-Free?

The Multigrain Cheerios contains five grains; oats, sorghum, rice, millet, and corn. All five grains are gluten-free, and the cereal does not contain any other gluten ingredient.

In addition, General Mills puts a gluten-free claim on the pack because it meets the FDA’s <20ppm gluten in gluten-free meals.

Are Cinnamon Cheerios Gluten-Free?

Yes, Cinnamon Cheerios is gluten-free. The cereal is devoid of any ingredients that can trigger an allergic reaction in people with gluten sensitivity. It also bears a gluten-free claim on its pack. Celiacs can safely eat this cereal without fear of an allergic reaction.

SEE: Are Klondike Bars Gluten-Free and Edible for Celiacs?

Are Apple Cinnamon Cheerios Gluten-Free?

Yes, Apple Cinnamon Cheerios are also gluten-free. If you have a celiac condition and have already decided to stay off Cheerios, this is one of the Cheerios cereals you can safely eat for breakfast or snack on.

Are Blueberry Cheerios Gluten-Free?

Blueberry Cheerios is a fruit-flavored breakfast cereal; they do not contain any gluten ingredients. The company also puts a gluten-free seal on the pack declaring it safe for celiacs and people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Are Cheerios Oat Crunch Gluten-Free?

Oat Crunch Cheerios are not gluten-free. Moreover, the pack doesn’t carry a gluten-free label on it. And the company says that the ingredients on the box are very accurate.

During the processing of this cereal, there is a likely possibility that it was cross-contaminated with gluten grains. However, if you know your level of gluten sensitivity, you may or may not eat Oat Crunch Cheerios because it doesn’t contain any gluten ingredient.

Are Cheerios Oat Crunch, Almond Gluten-Free?

During the processing of this cereal, it may have been cross-contaminated with gluten grains. It also doesn’t have a gluten-free label on its pack. Moreover, on the Cheerios website, Cheerios Oat Crunch Almond is not on the list of gluten-free cereals.

Therefore, if you have gluten intolerance, you should stay off this cereal and go for gluten-free options.

SEE: Find Out if Protein Bars Are Healthy for a Gluten-Free Diet

Are Cheerios Oat Crunch, Oats ‘N Honey Gluten-Free?

Like the other Oat Crunch Cheerios, Cheerios Oat Crunch Oats ‘N Honey is not gluten-free. There is no dedicated processing system for the cereal to prevent cross-contamination. Therefore, it is not safe for people with gluten sensitivity.

Do You Need Gluten-Free Cheerios in Your Diet?

Yes, you’ll need a gluten Cheerios if you have gluten sensitivity. Also, these cereals have a low sugar content that makes them kid-friendly.

Gluten-Free Alternatives for Cheerios

  • Love Grown Honey Power O’s
  • Orgran Multigrain Breakfast O’s with Quinoa
  • Nature’s Path Whole O’s
  • Peanut Butter Chex Cereals
  • Original Lucky Charms Cereals
  • Corn Chex Cereal
  • Nature’s Path Cocoa Coconut Superflakes
  • Three Wishes Protein Cereal
  • Barbara’s Honey Rice Puffins
  • Freedom Foods Rice Flakes
  • Kellogg’s Special K Gluten-Free Cereals
  • Enjoy Life Crunchy Flax
  • Ancient Harvest Quinoa Flakes

Are There Side Effects of Eating Gluten-Free Cereals?

Yes, there are. Gluten-free cereals are low in fiber compared to the recommended fiber intake. A gluten-free diet doesn’t provide you with as many vitamins as your body needs.

Additionally, some gluten-free baked goods, like cookies and muffins, use more calories and sugar, which can lead to weight gain.

SEE: Are Cool Ranch Doritos Gluten-Free and Celiac Sensitive?

FAQs

Can celiacs eat Cheerios?

Celiacs cannot eat all the Cheerios flavors. If you have a celiac condition, look for gluten-free Cheerios.

Can you eat Cheerios if you have a wheat allergy?

If you’re not celiac but have a wheat allergy, you should eat only Cheerios that do not contain gluten. Cheerios that contain gluten are also made from oats, but they may not be 100% safe for people with wheat allergies.

Are Cheerios vegan?

Cheerios are not vegan. Some of them contain honey which is not a vegan ingredient. Moreover, Cheerios contain white sugar and are fortified with vitamin D3, which is obtained from wool grease.

Are Cheerios dairy-free?

Almost all gluten-free Cheerios are dairy-free. Some of them include Original Cheerios, Blueberry Cheerios, Maple Cheerios, Chocolate Cheerios, Cinnamon Cheerios, Fruity Cheerios, and Frosted Cheerios.

Also, some gluten Cheerios are dairy-free. Examples are Cheerios Oat Crunch, Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheerios, and Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch.

Are Cheerios low FODMAP?

Yes, you can eat Cheerios on a low FODMAP diet. However, it would help if you ate the cereals in moderation amounts. Cheerios contain sugar, and some flavors contain gluten. Eating too much of these cereals may still cause reactions in your digestive tract.

Conclusion

Cheerios are a “wholesome goodness” cereal for family breakfast. They are good for adults and kid-friendly too. However, not all Cheerios are gluten-free. General Mills does their best to make sure the oats is processed with the utmost care because of people with gluten sensitivity.

All Cheerios cereals that do not contain gluten have a gluten-free label on them. On the other hand, cereals that contain gluten do not have gluten-free labels. When you go shopping for cereals, ensure to read the label and be sure the cereal is gluten-free.

You can also visit the Cheerios website to see their list of cereals and make your choice.

Thanks for reading.

Check Cheffist for more articles that tell you what’s fit for a gluten-free diet.