Are Doritos Gluten-Free? Find the Truth Here

Eating at social gatherings can be stressful if you are gluten-free, especially when it comes to snacking on chips. The best way to go about this is to discover gluten-free foods and snacks so you can be sure what to avoid. Luckily for you, I have helped you confirm if Doritos are gluten-free. 

If you are a celiac patient or highly sensitive to gluten, it’s no longer news that you have to stir clear of any food or chips that contain gluten. 

Read ahead to find out more about Doritos, which flavor of Doritos is gluten-free, alternatives to try, and DIY gluten-free Doritos recipes. 

What Are Doritos?

Doritos are flavored tortilla chips produced by an American brand called Frito-Lay. Originally, Doritos were unflavored until the first flavored version—Toasted Corn arrived in 1966. Now there are several other flavors to choose from to satisfy your cravings

The word Doritos is Spanish for little gold bits. The main ingredient in this snack is tortilla chips in an alkaline solution to release the niacin in corn and form better protein quality. 

You have probably heard of the delightful taste of Doritos, making you eager to taste it. Find out if it’s gluten-free as you read along. 

SEE; Are Swedish Fish Gluten-Free?

Is Doritos Gluten-Free?

Doritos do not contain gluten ingredients, so it’s safe to say they are gluten-free. However, only two flavors of Doritos have a gluten-free label. 

Frito Lay is yet to test and verify any Doritos flavor that doesn’t have a gluten-free label. Therefore, it is against the FDA labeling guidelines to tag the snacks gluten-free. However, Frito Lay claims that all of their Doritos flavors are gluten-free. 

Which Doritos Is Gluten-Free?

The Simply Organic White Cheddar and Toasted Corn Flavored Tortillas chips are the only two Doritos flavors that are labeled gluten-free. 

These chips have been tested by Frito Lay and passed the FDA labeling guidelines. Therefore, they contain less than 20ppm of gluten, making them safe for you if you have celiac disease or are simply sensitive to gluten.

Why Aren’t the Other Doritos Gluten-Free?

Other Doritos flavors don’t have a gluten-free label because they are yet to be tested according to the FDA guideline. This means that they likely contain more than 20ppm of gluten. 

Even though Frito Lay claims the Doritos are gluten-free, there may be chances of cross-contamination during the production process. 

Who Shouldn’t Eat Doritos?

Everyone has a right to the delightful taste of Doritos chips as the items meet the standard of an everyday snack. However, some Doritos chips do not meet the FDA standards to be labeled as gluten-free. 

Therefore, don’t get too comfortable with Doritos if you have any level of gluten intolerance. Out of 30 flavors, only 2 have a gluten-free label. Frito Lay claims that 21 other varieties are gluten-free, while the other 7 contain gluten. 

To ensure safety, choose only Doritos with the gluten-free label—The Simply Organic White Cheddar and Toasted Corn Flavored Tortillas chips. 

The other 21 varieties have a chance of cross-contamination with wheat during processing, therefore Frito Lay cannot guarantee that they are below 20ppm of gluten. Avoid them at all costs. 

SEE: Are Ruffles Gluten-Free?

5 Gluten-Free Dorito Alternatives

Having to eat only two out of all 30 flavors of Doritos may not be enough for you, especially because you may not find them available around you. Here are gluten-free Doritos alternatives you can try.

1. Late July

Late July corn chips are a smarter alternative to Doritos as most of their snacks are labeled gluten-free. They have several tortilla chips varieties to choose from. 

Additionally, they have other delightful flavors like Nacho Chipotle, Mild Green Mojo, Bacon Habanero, and many more. 

Note: Some Late July products contain wheat. As a result, do yourself the favor of confirming if an item is gluten-free before ordering. 

SEE: Are Cheetos Gluten-Free? Here’s What You Need to Know

2. Cheetos

Even though most Doritos are not labeled gluten-free, Frito Lay produces a large variety of other gluten-free chips you can rely on. Cheetos are the best alternatives you’ll ever come by among products from Frito Lay. 

3. Paqui

Paqui chips are another one of the closest alternatives to Doritos that you can try. You can enjoy it in different flavors such as Nacho Cheese, Fiery Chile Limon, Haunted Ghost Pepper, and much more. 

4. Beanitos

Beanitos are tortilla chips made from beans and come in several varieties of flavors. Popular flavors you can try are—the regular Nacho, Ranch, and other intriguing flavors like Sweet Chili and sour cream. You can buy beanitos in a local grocery store or on Amazon. 

5. Beanfields

Beanfields are another bean-based tortilla chips you can eat in place of Doritos. It is available in a wide range of flavors. These chips have not only a gluten-free label, but they are also vegan. 

All beanfields flavors are certified to be gluten-free and some of them are like Doritos’ classic flavors. Some delightful flavors to try include Nacho Cheese, Jalapeno Nacho, Salt & Vinegar, and so on. Get Beanfields chips from a local grocery store, Amazon, or at Thrive Market.

SEE: TellCampero: Tell Pollo Campero & Get Free Meal

Gluten-Free Doritos Recipes

Luckily for you, you can prepare your gluten-free Doritos at home with DIY recipes. Here are recipes for three different flavors that you can try. 

Nacho Cheese Doritos recipe

Ingredients:

  • 6 corn tortillas 
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Nacho cheese powder
  • ⅓ cup of yeast
  • 1 teaspoon of chili powder
  • ½ teaspoon of smoked paprika
  • ½ teaspoon of paprika
  • ¼ teaspoon of garlic powder
  • ¼ teaspoon of onion powder
  • Chipotle powder (optional)
  • ½ teaspoon tomato powder (optional)
  • Salt (optional)

SEE: Is Almond Milk Gluten-Free?

Cool Ranch Doritos recipe

Ingredients:

  • 6 corn tortillas 
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons of onion powder
  • 2 teaspoons of garlic powder
  • ¼ cup of nutritional yeast
  • 2 teaspoons of dried parsley
  • 2 teaspoons of dried chives
  • ½ – 1 teaspoon of salt 

Spicy Taco Doritos recipe

Ingredients:

  • 6 corn tortillas 
  • A tablespoon of olive oil
  • ¼ cup of nutritional yeast
  • 2 teaspoons of chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons of onion powder
  • A teaspoon of smoked paprika
  • A teaspoon of garlic powder
  • Salt
  • ½ teaspoon of cumin
  • ½ teaspoon of coriander

Baking instructions:

  • Preheat your oven between 300 to 350 degrees
  • Place your baking sheet down 
  • Place the tortillas on top of each other
  • Cut it into eight slices
  • Place the chips into a medium-sized bowl
  • Drizzle olive oil over them, turn it to cover the other side with oil
  • Sprinkle the seasoning over each chip with a spoon till both sides are coated perfectly
  • Place the chips on the baking sheet and bake for about 15 minutes
  • After the first seven minutes, rotate your baking pan
  • Monitor the chips during the last two minutes to prevent burning
  • After baking, allow the chips to cool down 
  • After cooling completely, store the chips in an airtight container

SEE: Are Rice Cakes Gluten-Free? A Comprehensive Manual

FAQs

Can celiac patients eat Doritos?

Yes, they can. Celiac patients can also enjoy some Doritos flavors such as the Simply Organic White Cheddar and Toasted Corn Flavored Tortillas Chips.  

Those are the only chips safe for consumption for celiac patients as they have the gluten-free label. This means they contain less than 20 ppm of gluten, which is considered safe for you if you have any form of gluten sensitivity.

Does the tortilla in Doritos contain gluten?

No, it doesn’t. The tortilla used in creating Doritos does not contain gluten as it is made from 100% corn.

While other types of tortillas like flour tortillas contain wheat, which is a great source of gluten, The tortillas used in making Doritos are gluten-free.

SEE: Is Alcohol Gluten-Free? How to Choose Your Alcohol

Conclusion

Even though Frito Lay claims that all their Doritos are gluten-free, only two flavors have the gluten-free label, according to the FDA standards. This means that even though the chips don’t contain any gluten, they may experience cross-contamination with wheat during production.

If you have zero tolerance for gluten, it is best to only choose from the two available Doritos labeled gluten-free—Simply Organic White Cheddar and Toasted Corn Flavored Tortillas Chips. You can also get alternatives as several brands offer a wide range of tortilla chips similar to Doritos.

Thanks for reading.

Was this guide helpful? Discover more gluten-free foods and alternatives on Cheffist.