Corn chips are great snacks for just-something-to-chew-on, sandwiches, and dipping in sauces. If you love to eat corn chips, but you are gluten sensitive, your number question when you hear of any corn chips brand is, “is it gluten-free?” Yes, Fritos corn chips are gluten-free, and they are not.
Don’t frown yet. Since Fritos has some gluten-free corn chips, you should find out which flavors are suitable for your gluten sensitivity and stick with them instead.
What Are Fritos?
Fritos are thin strips of corn chips made by frying whole cornmeal. The Fritos brand includes corn chips and dipping sauce manufactured by Frito-Lay, a division of PepsiCo.
The most popular Fritos corn chips are the Original Fritos which is a wavy strip of orange corn chips. However, Frito-Lay has other Fritos flavors that are just as tasty as the Original Fritos. Although, the Original Fritos has a subtle flavor compared to the other flavors.
Is Fritos Gluten-Free?
Not all Fritos flavors are gluten-free. Frito-Lay states that although they do not include gluten ingredients when producing Fritos chips, they cannot guarantee consumers that all their chips are gluten-free.
However, this does not mean that other flavors contain gluten ingredients. They are rather described as “Fritos that do not contain gluten ingredients.” The difference between the gluten-free Fritos and Fritos that do not contain gluten ingredients is in the production process.
The former is prepared in a facility completely free of gluten ingredients, while the latter may be produced alongside other products containing gluten.
Are Fritos Original Corn Chips Gluten-Free?
Yes, Fritos Original corn chips do not contain gluten ingredients. They are one of the few Fritos that are certified gluten-free. This means that they are processed in facilities that are also gluten-free.
What Other Fritos Flavors Are Gluten-Free?
Alongside Fritos Original, Fritos Scoops, Fritos Lightly Salted corn chips, and Fritos Reduced Fat Original corn chips are the other flavors of Fritos that are certified gluten-free.
List of Fritos That Do Not Contain Gluten
- Fritos Flamin’ Hot Flavored Corn Chips
- Fritos Chili Cheese Flavored Corn Chips
- Fritos Flavor Twist Honey BBQ Flavored Corn Chips
- Fritos Scoops! Spicy Jalapeno Flavored Corn Chips
- Fritos Spicy Jalapeno Flavored Corn Chips
Is Fritos Bean Dip Gluten-Free?
Fritos Bean Dip does not contain gluten. According to the ingredient list from Frito-Lay, this dipping sauce is made with water, pinto beans, vinegar, corn oil, salt, maltodextrin (made from corn), dried onion, sugar, jalapeno peppers, spice, chili pepper, dried garlic, and natural flavors.
None of the above ingredients contain gluten. Therefore, if you’re eating gluten-free, you can have Fritos Bean Dip.
What Are the Benefits of Eating Gluten-Free Fritos?
The benefits of eating gluten-free Fritos are rather applicable to people eating gluten-free. You should eat the gluten-free flavors of Fritos corn chips if you’re gluten-sensitive. These flavors will reduce the symptoms of gluten sensitivity.
Are There Side Effects of Eating Gluten-Free Fritos?
Yes, there are. Although Fritos are delicious, they are not completely healthy. The corn chips are made with overprocessed corn, which will not be as nutritious as it was before processing. Also, corn chips have very high sodium content, which is not good for the body.
Therefore, if you want to eat Fritos, you should do so in moderation.
Gluten-Free Alternatives to Fritos
- PipSnacks PipCorn Sea Salt Heirloom Corn Dippers
- Sana Himalayan Pink Salt and Coconut Flour Tortillas Chips
- Mission Foods Tortilla Chips
- Late July Tortilla Chips
- Public Goods Tortilla Chips
- Siete Grain Free Tortilla Chips
- Pulp Chips Barbecue
- The Better Chip
- Kettle Brand Tortilla Chips
- The Blue Corn Tortilla Chips from Food Should Taste Good
- Tortilla Chips
- Vegetable Chips
- Potato Chips
- WildRoots Red Quinoa Chia Tortilla Chips
Gluten-Free Fritos Recipe
- ½ cup of fine or stone-ground cornmeal
- Olive or canola oil (the quantity of oil you need depends on whether you’re baking or frying)
- ½ teaspoon of salt
- Preheat the oven to 375°F.
- Get two equal sizes of parchment paper ready as well
- Then, take a small bowl and whisk the cornmeal and salt together
- Afterward, add one-third of a cup of hot water and whisk until you have a smooth batter that is not too thick or too runny
- Place one of the parchment papers on the worktop and pour the batter onto it. Cover it with the second parchment paper and begin to roll out the batter
- Roll until you have a 33-inch thick batter
- Thereafter, take off the top parchment paper, transfer the batter onto the baking sheet, and begin to cut the flattened batter into small bits
- When you’re done cutting, drizzle oil over them
- Then, bake for about 15 minutes. The chips will be golden brown when they are ready
- You can choose to fry your homemade Fritos in a skillet over medium heat. Fry until they float to the top of the oil and are golden brown
Can celiacs eat corn chips?
Celiacs can eat any of the four flavors of Fritos corn chips that are certified gluten-free. They include Fritos Lightly Salted Corn Chips, Fritos Original Corn Chips, Fritos Reduced Fat Original Corn Chips, and Fritos Scoops! Corn Chips.
Is Fritos vegan?
Yes, Fritos corn chips are vegan. These delicious chips are made from corn, oil, and salt. All of these ingredients are vegan-friendly. This, therefore, makes Fritos corn chips fit for a vegan lifestyle.
Are Fritos gluten-free and dairy-free?
There are only four flavors of Fritos corn chips that are gluten-free and dairy-free. They are Fritos Flavor Twists Honey BBQ Flavored Corn Snacks, Fritos Lightly Salted Corn Chips, Fritos Original Corn Chips, and Fritos Scoops! Corn Chips.
Fritos are a great snack and can be quite filling if you dip them with sauce. However, if you’re gluten-free, you cannot eat all the Fritos chips flavors. You don’t have to stay off the corn chips. Find the flavors that won’t trigger a reaction in your digestive system and eat them.
If you want to, you can indulge in making gluten-free Fritos for yourself at home. Also, you can opt for alternatives that you are sure are 100% gluten-free.
Thanks for reading.
If you’re eating gluten-free, Cheffist is the place to read the best guides to help you pick your meals.