Are Pasta Sauces Gluten-Free? Yes, Even Celiacs Can Eat Pasta

Share this:

Great pasta becomes greater with a well-made pasta sauce. People whose bodies can tolerate it can have any sauce but gluten-free people cannot. For the sake of the gluten sensitivity symptoms, pasta sauces must go through scrutiny to be sure they are gluten-free.

You can either make a pasta sauce at home or buy marketed brands. But your chances of eating a gluten-free sauce are higher when you are making the sauce by yourself. However, if you have to buy a sauce, you should be sure it’s gluten-free.

What Is Pasta Sauce?

Pasta sauce is a tomato sauce garnished with vegetables, herbs, and spices. The sauce is a very important part of any pasta recipe because it is what gives life to pasta. Pasta is a comfort meal; the sauces are the condiments that make them appetizing and palatable.

Conventional pasta sauces are made of fresh tomatoes puree, tinned tomatoes, vegetables like carrots, green chilies, seasonings, and herbs. Furthermore, there are other varieties of pasta sauces, they include thick meaty sauces, cream-based sauces, cheese-based, and light butter sauces.

In addition, pasta sauces vary across countries, and the type of sauce people eat also varies with personal preferences.

Are Pasta Sauces Gluten-Free?

Most pasta sauces are gluten-free. The constituent ingredients, especially the base ingredients (tomato, meat, cheese, or oil) are naturally gluten-free. Generally, this makes pasta sauces okay for celiacs and those with non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS).

However, if you’re buying processed sauce, you should check the nutrition label for ingredients that contain wheat or other sources of gluten.

When making pasta sauce, the tomatoes are sautéed in hot oil until they no longer have their acidic, raw taste. Then, vegetables, seasonings, herbs, and spices are added to give and enhance the flavor.

SEE: Is Crème Brûlée Gluten-Free and Vegan Friendly?

Is Prego Tomato Sauce Gluten-Free?

Prego is the brand name for a traditional pasta sauce. They make a variety of pasta sauces and they are all verified gluten-free. Their over 25 sauces meet the FDA standard that qualifies a sauce as gluten-free.

Therefore, celiacs can safely eat these sauces with pasta. You can also make sure of what you’re eating by reading the nutrition label or visiting their website to read through the ingredients list for gluten ingredients.

Is Dolmio Pasta Sauce Gluten-Free?

Dolmio is another brand name for processed pasta sauces and their sauces are confirmed gluten-free. Most of their packaging comes with a gluten-free label on them but you can do a double check to be very sure.

Is Ragu Spaghetti Sauce Gluten-Free?

Ragu spaghetti sauce brands are not all gluten-free. Most of their sauces do not contain gluten ingredients. Some of them like the Parmesan & Romano and Mama’s Garden pasta sauces contain barley in their ingredients.

These two sauces are Ragu’s sauces that contain gluten. If people with celiac eat any of these, it will cause a reaction.

Is Rao’s Marinara Sauce Gluten-Free?

Rao’s is also the brand name for a company that makes pasta sauce. Rao’s marinara sauce is confirmed gluten-free. All the ingredients on the list are gluten-free, so they are fit as pasta condiments for celiacs.

SEE: Is Soy Lecithin Gluten-Free?

Are Classico Pasta Sauces Gluten-Free?

Classico has over thirty different flavors of pasta sauces. The sauces meet the FDA’s twenty parts per million requirements for gluten-free sauces.

Are Leggo’s Pasta Sauces Gluten-Free?

Leggo’s pasta sauces are simple and classic and are considered gluten-free. One can never be too careful, so you should always read the labels of processed foods before you consume them. Check for gluten ingredients and drop the pack if it contains wheat or other gluten ingredients.

SEE: If Olive Oil Is Gluten-Free

Why Do You Need Pasta Sauce in Your Diet?

Eating pasta sauce in your diet can do you a lot of good. Tomatoes, the base of most pasta sauces, is a rich source of many nutrients like lycopene. This lycopene greatly improves your heart’s health and reduces the risk of getting heart problems and even prostate cancer.

Furthermore, pasta sauces are rich in vitamins and minerals that support and enhance bone health, vision, and the appearance of your skin. They also help to protect you from chronic diseases.

In addition, the tomatoes in pasta sauces are sources of fiber. Therefore, eating pasta sauces in moderation will greatly aid bowel movement, thereby reducing frequent constipation.

SEE: Is Heinz Ketchup Fit for a Gluten-Free Diet?

Are There Side Effects of Eating Gluten-Free Pasta Sauce?

The risk of eating gluten-free foods is common. Those who follow this diet may lack some nutrients, especially those found in wheat and other gluten ingredients. However, you can avoid this deficiency with a doctor’s counsel.

In addition, you can make up for the deficiency by eating gluten-free whole grains, fruits, and vegetables rather than processed gluten-free foods.

SEE: A List of Foods That Are Naturally Gluten-Free for a Healthy Lifestyle

Gluten-Free Pasta Sauce Recipe

Follow this recipe to make gluten-free pasta sauce for eight people. You can reduce or increase the measurements of ingredients according to how many people you’d be serving.

Ingredients

  • 2 tinned tomatoes
  • 4 cans of tomato sauce
  • 2 large onions
  • 2 bell peppers
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tablespoon of basil
  • ½ tablespoon of oregano
  • 1 tablespoon of salt
  • ½ tablespoon of ground pepper
  • ½ tablespoon of crushed red pepper
  • Sliced tomatoes
  • Ground beef
  • Chicken sausage
  • Any other seasonings, herbs, or spices of your choice

Instructions

  • Start with washing all necessary ingredients
  • Then, chop the onions, bell peppers, and chicken sausage into bits. Also, mince the garlic
  • Thereafter, heat the ground beef with the chopped onions and chopped bell peppers in a skillet
  • Allow the beef to cook until it’s brown, then add the sausage and minced garlic
  • Cook everything for about five minutes
  • Afterward, add the tinned tomatoes, tomato sauce, and sliced tomatoes. Make sure you’re stirring the mix while you add the condiments
  • Add the spices and seasonings as well
  • Stir everything together and leave it to cook on low heat for another 20 minutes
  • Then, your gluten-free pasta sauce is ready to go with pasta for lunch or dinner

SEE: Get Free Food or Amazing Discount from Church’s Chicken

FAQs

How can you tell if a pasta sauce is gluten-free?

To know if a pasta sauce is gluten-free, check the label for any gluten ingredient on the ingredients list. If you’re making your sauce at home, be sure to use only gluten-free ingredients.

Why does your stomach hurt after eating gluten-free pasta?

Your stomach may hurt after eating gluten-free pasta because the pasta may be made with over-processed and refined gluten-free grains.

Is there gluten-free pasta?

Yes, there are gluten-free kinds of pasta. Pasta made from brown rice, chickpeas, corn, buckwheat, or quinoa are examples of gluten-free kinds of pasta.

Conclusion

Whether you’re following a gluten-free diet or not, you deserve to enjoy a nice bowl of pasta and sauce. Wonderfully, people on a gluten-free diet don’t have to throw caution to the wind to enjoy pasta sauces.

There are so many gluten-free pasta sauces you can eat. And they taste no less appetizing than regular pasta sauces. If you are getting branded pasta sauces, make sure you’re buying one that is completely gluten-free to avoid a reaction if you’re a celiac.

Thanks for reading.

Check Cheffist for more articles that tell you what’s fit for a gluten-free diet.