Eating healthy has become more of a deal than eating quantity or what’s convenient for you. For a gluten-free diet, everything matters and this includes what you snack on. If you love protein bars unrepentantly, then, their gluten-free status is worth investigating.
Protein bars fulfill a variety of purposes. And for whichever reason you’re eating one, it should be healthy. Here’s a quick look at the gluten status of these nutritious snacks.
What Are Protein Bars?
Protein bars are snack and nutrition bars that give the body a good dose of protein. In some protein bars, the protein works as an energy booster and provides your body with calories to get you going. Some other protein bars are solely for dietary supplements.
Furthermore, the protein bars that work as energy bars are usually eaten by athletes to fuel a workout, increase muscle mass, and enhance muscle repair post-workout. Eating protein bars as dietary supplements conveniently provides your body with protein and helps to suppress your appetite.
Are Protein Bars Gluten-Free?
Most protein bars are gluten-free. The ingredients vary across brands and some of them may include gluten ingredients.
Furthermore, the major ingredient in protein bars is gluten-free but there’s a likelihood of cross-contamination with gluten. The best way to be sure is to read the label and ingredient list to check for gluten ingredients.
Also, look up the manufacturing company and the snack for claims of a gluten-free protein bar.
Are Protein Bars Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free?
Not all protein bars are gluten-free and dairy-free. Dairy-free people should stay off protein bars that contain whey protein, a protein gotten from milk.
In addition, if you want dairy-free, look for protein bars that use plant-based protein or other non-dairy protein sources.
Are Protein Bars Gluten-Free and Vegan?
Most of the protein bars you see on display are not vegan. Whey protein and many other sources of protein are by-products of milk and other animal sources.
However, some manufacturers cater to the demands of vegan protein bars. Some protein bars use plant-based protein or fruits and seeds as a protein source for vegan protein bars.
Are Quest Protein Bars Gluten-Free?
Quest is the brand name for a protein bar manufacturing company. All flavors of Quest protein bars are gluten-free. They contain whey and dairy proteins, fiber, and low sugar.
Additionally, you should know that they are not dairy-free nor are they vegan. So, if you’re looking for a gluten-free, dairy-free protein bar, you shouldn’t eat Quest protein bars.
Are Grenade Protein Bars Gluten-Free?
Grenade protein bars are gluten-free. They are also dairy-free and vegan. Grenade bars also have low sugar content and make great protein supplements for breakfast or meal replacements for lunch.
Are Misfits Protein Bars Gluten-Free?
Yes. Misfits protein bars contain natural ingredients that are gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan-friendly. The protein bar is a highly indulgent, triple-layered, chocolate-coated snack that can fuel you for a workout.
Moreover, Misfits bars are high in fiber, low in sugar and carbs, and make a great meal replacement for breakfast or lunch while you’re on the go.
Is Nature Valley Protein Bar Gluten-Free?
Yes, Nature Valley protein bars are certified gluten-free and vegan too. They exceed the FDA’s requirements that certify processed foods as gluten-free. Their high protein content makes them the perfect snack to get you going in the mornings and in the gym.
Moreover, the high fiber and protein content are sufficient to keep you feeling full for longer. Nature Valley protein bars are good for celiacs.
Some Nature Valley bars may contain oats, which may not always be gluten-free because they are often contaminated by gluten grains like wheat and barley during processing. Therefore, you should read the labels for gluten-free certifications.
Is Kirkland Protein Bar Gluten-Free?
Kirkland chewy protein bars are certified gluten-free. They are highly satisfying and keep you feeling full for longer. Kirkland bars are filled with nuts and are a great snack for breakfast, meal replacement, and dietary supplement.
However, they are not dairy-free or vegan. You should beware if you’re vegan and off dairy.
Are One Protein Bars Gluten-Free?
One protein bars are gluten-free. They are high in protein but low in sugar. These snack bars are a perfect choice for suppressing your appetite and hunger. They are great for breakfast, mid-day snacks, and pre or post-workout.
Is BodyScience Protein Bar Gluten-Free?
BodyScience protein bars are gluten-free. It is a multi-layered protein bar that is low in sugar and rich in fiber. The composition of the protein bars aids fat loss and helps to build and repair muscle mass. It is a friendly bar for athletes.
Why Do You Need Protein Bars in Your Diet?
- Eating protein bars can aid in weight loss
- Protein bars also aid weight gain by replenishing burned calories
- A quick meal replacement when you’re in a pinch
- Protein bars also make a great substitute for meals that don’t contain necessary proteins
- Sufficient for mid-day meal
- Eating a protein bar can fuel you with energy before and after a workout session
- Additionally, protein bars can help build body mass without adding calories or carbs
- Protein bars are rich in fiber and keep you feeling full for longer, thereby helping you to control your appetite
Are There Side Effects of Eating Gluten-Free Protein Bars?
Some protein bars use a lot of sweeteners to enhance the flavor of the bars. And some of these sweeteners are unhealthy and can increase your risk of getting obesity, diabetes, and fatty liver. In addition, when you eat too many protein bars, it could result in digestive upset.
Recipe for Homemade Gluten-Free Protein Bars
Ingredients: for 30-32 protein bars
- 4 cups of roasted peanuts (should contain half-chopped and whole peanuts)
- 3 cups of roasted almonds
- 6 tablespoons of peanut butter
- 6-7 ounces of dark chocolate
- 12 tablespoons of whole grain rolled oats
- ½ cup of organic brown rice syrup or maple syrup
- 1 tablespoon of organic vanilla extract
- ½ teaspoon of salt
- ½ cup of honey
- Olive oil
- Line an 8-inches baking pan with parchment paper and brush it lightly with olive oil
- Then, ground the oats into powder
- Pour the oats powder into a greased bowl and add the half-chopped roasted peanuts and almonds and stir all together
- Thereafter, heat a saucepan at medium heat and stir in the rice syrup, honey, salt, vanilla extract, and peanut butter
- Afterward, remove the pan and quickly stir the hot mixture into the bowl of oats and nuts
- Mix well until you have an even mixture (not too dry or too moist)
- If the mixture is too dry, add more honey and if it’s too moist, add more oats
- While the mixture is still hot and soft, pour it into the prepared dish, smoothen the top and cover it with another parchment paper
- Thereafter, leave it to cool and then refrigerate it until it’s firm
- While you wait for it set in the fridge, melt the chocolate
- When the entire mixture is firm enough, bring it out of the fridge, transfer it onto a greased chopping board and cut it into equal bars
- Dip the bars, one at a time, into the melted chocolate to cover the bottom and sides of the bars
- Lay the chocolate-covered bars aside in another tray lined with greased parchment paper
- When you’re done coating all the bars, put the tray in the fridge for a few hours so the chocolate solidifies
- There, you have your homemade gluten-free protein bars
Are protein bars good for celiacs?
If you’re sure that the protein bar is gluten-free, then it’s safe for celiacs to eat.
What type of proteins are in protein bars?
Most protein bars contain whey protein or casein. However, some brands make use of plant-based protein, insect protein, seeds, or nuts to make protein bars.
Can you eat protein bars without working out?
Yes, you can. Protein bars serve other purposes than fuelling you with energy for workout sessions. You can choose to snack on protein bars as a dietary supplement or to suppress hunger.
Do protein bars make you add weight?
Protein bars have high-calorie content. Therefore, you can gain weight by eating protein bars without necessarily eating a lot of food.
Protein bars are a convenient snack and can fill in for a meal when you’re looking to conveniently provide your body with protein. These food bars provide the energy you need to get on your feet in the mornings and at the gym.
If protein bars are the most convenient options for you, you should be very mindful of the bars you eat. While some are gluten-free, others are not. Read the label and ingredient list to be sure the protein bars leave out gluten ingredients.
Thanks for reading.
Check Cheffist for more articles that tell you what’s fit for a gluten-free diet.