Are Ruffles Gluten-Free? You Need to Read This

Having gluten intolerance simply means you have to be conscious of the foods and snacks you eat. This also applies to you if you are a celiac patient. Knowing what snack is and isn’t gluten-free is important, which is why you need to confirm if ruffles are gluten-free and safe for you. 

Having this knowledge will help you avoid eating a gluten product or food at an event or hangout. Keep reading to find out more about ruffles, whether or not they are gluten-free and what flavor is safe for you.

What Are Ruffles?

Ruffles is a brand name for a category of chips produced by Lay’s potato chips under the Frito Lay company. As the name implies, ruffle chips simply look ruffled like folds created by a gathering of strips from a fabric. 

Ruffles are chips made from potato chips. These chips are sturdy and crunchy with a lower chance of breaking in the bags they come in. Despite being ruffled, it has a surface area that allows easy absorption of dips. 

Are Ruffles Gluten-Free?

Ruffles are gluten-free since they don’t contain any gluten ingredients. However, the absence of gluten is not the only criterion that determines if a product is gluten-free. Every gluten-free product has to be tested according to FDA labeling guidelines to determine if they are gluten-free. 

Ruffle chips are available in several flavors but only 4 out of these flavors have a gluten-free label on them. Even though Frito Lay claims the others don’t contain gluten, they are not certified as gluten-free.

SEE: Get Free Meal At Checkers & Rally’s 

Which Ruffles Flavor Is Gluten-Free?

Only the following ruffle chips flavors are tested and certified to be gluten-free: RUFFLES® Original Potato Chips, RUFFLES® Oven Baked Original Potato Crisps, RUFFLES® Reduced Fat Original Potato Chips, and RUFFLES® Simply Reduced Fat Sea Salted Potato Chips.

These flavors contain less than 20ppm of gluten, earning them the gluten-free label. Any other flavor that’s not on the list doesn’t have the gluten-free label and is yet to undergo proper testing. 

Why Aren’t the Other Ruffles Gluten-Free?

The reason other ruffle flavors don’t have the gluten-free label is that they are yet to undergo proper testing according to FDA guidelines. This could only mean that they contain over 20ppm of gluten. 

Despite Frito Lay’s claim that ruffles are gluten-free, it’s possible that the chips experienced cross-contamination during the production process. Even though they don’t contain gluten, they are not 100% gluten-free because of the chance of cross-contamination.

These Ruffles chip flavors include RUFFLES® All Dressed Flavored Potato Chips, RUFFLES® Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavored Potato Chips, RUFFLES® Classic Hot Wings Flavored Potato Chips, RUFFLES® Creamy Buffalo Ranch Flavored Dip, RUFFLES® Flame Grilled Cheeseburger Flavored Potato Chips, RUFFLES® Loaded Bacon & Cheddar Potato Skins Flavored Potato Chips, RUFFLES® Organic Original Potato Chips, RUFFLES® Oven Baked Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavored Potato Crisps, RUFFLES® Queso Flavored Potato Chips, and RUFFLES® Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Chips. 

Are Ruffle Chips Safe?

Yes, they are. Ruffle chips are safe for everyone. However, you need to be careful with the flavor you eat if you have gluten intolerance or are a celiac patient. Only go for the 4 flavors that have the gluten-free label on them. 

Avoid the other varieties since there is no guarantee that the chips contain less than 20ppm gluten. If you have had enough of the gluten-free varieties of ruffle chips, you can go for similar alternatives which I’ll provide you below. 

Gluten-Free Alternatives of Ruffles

1. Popcorners’ sea salt chips

Popcorners’ Sea Salt chips are a good Ruffles alternative for you. The product has a gluten-free label—meaning that it has been tested and proven to contain less than 20ppm. Besides that, it contains only three ingredients—-Yellow Corn, Sunflower Oil, and Sea Salt. 

These ingredients are all non-GMO, vegan, and dairy-free. Popcorners’ sea salt chips also contain no artificial color, flavors, or preservatives. This makes it a healthy alternative for you to splurge on. 

2. Brad’s plant-based sweet potato chips

Here’s another gluten-free Ruffles substitute that contains only organic ingredients. Brad’s plant-based sweet potato chips are dairy-free, vegan, and contain low sodium. The low sodium content makes it one of a kind and a healthy choice for you. 

The chips contain a wide range of ingredients including and are not limited to yam, carrots, lemon juice, maple syrup, and apple. Be sure to go through the ingredients list before buying the chips.  

3. Inka Crops’ sea salt plantain chips

Sea salt plantain chips by Inka Crops are delicious chips that contain only three ingredients.  They are gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan, and contain a very low sodium content—making them a healthy alternative for you. The three ingredients are plantain, palm oil, and salt.

4. Rhythm Superfoods’ sea salt beet chips

Rhythm Superfoods’ sea salt beet chips are another healthy alternative for you. It contains only organic, gluten-free, and vegan ingredients. The low-fat content in the chips makes it enjoyable for you even if you are on a diet.

5. Popchips Potato’s sea salt chips

These Sea Salt Chips are produced by Popchips Potato. These chips have a low-fat content and do not go through any frying process. They contain only non-GMO ingredients and are gluten-free, kosher, and vegan. This makes them a great healthy alternative to Ruffles potato chips. 

SEE: Is Almond Milk Gluten-Free?

Are there Side Effects of Gluten-Free Ruffles?

Ruffles are potato chips and eating too much of them can have side effects. Potato chips can make you gain weight as it happens to be the number one out of the 7 foods most likely to make you gain weight recorded in a journal

Eating these salty, fried fries on a regular basis can make you feel bloated and puffy. If at any point you start feeling this way, that’s a sign that you are eating too many chips. You will feel puffy in your hands, feet, and lips because of the salt content of the chips—which causes water retention. 

Gluten-Free Ruffles Potato Chips Recipe

Ruffles Krispy treats gluten-free

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup of salted butter
  • 4 cups of mini marshmallows
  • ½ teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 5 cups of lightly crushed potato chips

Directions:

  • Mix the butter and marshmallows in a bowl that is microwave-safe
  • Place the bowl into the microwave for a minute or two
  • Take the bowl out of the microwave once the butter and marshmallow melt
  • Add the vanilla extract into the bowl and mix it with the butter and marshmallow
  • Add the potato chips and roll them until the chips get an adequate marshmallow coating
  • Press the mixture into a greased pa and allow it to cool
  • Cut the chips into squares
  • Serve and enjoy your Ruffles Krispy Treats

SEE: Are Doritos Gluten-Free?

Frequently Asked Questions

Can celiac patients eat Ruffles?

Yes, they can. Whether you are a celiac patient or you have any form of intolerance to gluten, you can still enjoy ruffles potato chips as long as they have the gluten-free label. There are four different ruffle potato chips flavors that have a gluten-free label. 

Any Ruffles potato chips flavor that doesn’t have the gluten-free label is not safe for you to eat. This is because they likely contain more than 20ppm gluten. Therefore, avoid them.

Is potato gluten-free?

Yes, it is. Potatoes are starchy vegetables, not grains. Therefore, they are naturally gluten-free. Gluten is a type of protein that can only be found in grains like wheat, barley, rye, and others. 

Conclusion

Ruffles are potato chips that don’t contain gluten. However, only four flavors have been tested and are certified to be gluten-free according to FDA labeling guidelines. If you have gluten intolerance or any form of sensitivity to gluten, these four flavors are safe for you.

It is important to know that the other ruffle potato chips flavors are not certified to be gluten-free despite Frito-Lay’s claims. It’s best to avoid them if you have any form of gluten intolerance. 

Thanks for reading.

Check Cheffist to discover more gluten-free snacks, foods, and alternatives you can enjoy safely.