Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten-Free Candy?

Sour Patch Kids may sound like just the kids’ stuff, but you’ll agree with me that even adults relish the sour then sweet taste. The gummy candies are very delicious and highly indulgent when paired with a great movie. But, before you dig into the candy, are Sour Patch Kids gluten-free?

It’s no news that people eating gluten-free what to know the gluten status of whatever will go into their digestive tract. And this does not exclude confectioneries like Sour Patch Kids. Good news! Sour Patch Kids are gluten-free.

If you have gluten intolerance, do yourself a favor and get the necessary information you need before you eat anything. Ahead, you’ll find answers to your questions on the gluten status of Sour Patch Kids. This will help you decide whether your kids and you can have them or not.

SEE: Are Jolly Ranchers Gluten-Free?

What Are Sour Patch Kids?

Sour Patch Kids are a type of gummy candies with a sour and then sweet taste. The sour taste first hits your taste buds because the sweet candies are covered in a sour powder. Sour Patch Kids are one of those candies that make you pucker every time you throw a few into your mouth.

The candies are made with corn syrup, sugar, invert sugar, modified corn starch, tartaric acid, citric acid, natural flavoring, artificial flavoring, yellow 6, red 40, yellow 5, and blue 1. Furthermore, Sour Patch Kids are of different varieties, so you and your kids have a good range of options to pick from.

SEE: Find Out If AirHeads Candies Are Gluten-Free

Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten-Free?

All flavors of Sour Patch Kids do not contain any gluten ingredients, but they are not certified gluten-free by a third party. Also, there is no proof that they are made in a gluten-free facility. Therefore, there is a risk of cross-contamination during production.

While you’re satisfying your cravings, you should watch out for any reactions in your digestive tract. If you notice anything strange while eating Sour Patch Kids, you might want to drop the pack.

Sour Patch Kids Gluten-Free Flavors

These are the Sour Patch Kids Flavors:

  • Sour Patch Kids Watermelon Soft and Chewy Candy
  • Sour Patch Kids Bunnies Candy (limited editions)
  • Sour Patch Kids Watermelon Jelly Beans
  • Sour Patch Kids Just Blue Raspberry
  • Sour Patch Kids Peach Soft & Chewy Candy
  • Sour Patch Kids Grape Soft & Chewy Candy
  • Sour Patch Kids Strawberry Soft & Chewy Candy
  • Sour Patch Kids Original Soft & Chewy Candy
  • Sour Patch Kids Berries Soft & Chewy Candy
  • Sour Patch Kids Candy Crush Soda Fruit Mix Flavor
  • Sour Patch Kids Bites Original Soft & Chewy Candy
  • Sour Patch Kids Bites Watermelon Soft & Chewy Candy
  • Sour Patch Kids Tropical Soft & Chewy Candy
  • Sour Patch Kids Heads, 2 Flavors in One
  • Sour Patch Kids Extreme Soft & Chewy Candy
  • Sour Patch Kids Big Kids Soft & Chewy Candy
  • Yoplait Sour Patch Kids Go-Gurt
  • Chips Ahoy! Cookies With Sour Patch Kids Candy (limited edition)
  • Sour Patch Kids Light Ice Cream & Sorbet
  • Ghost BCAA x Sour Patch Kids Watermelon
  • Ghost Legend x Sour Patch Kids Redberry

SEE: How to Get a Free Biscuit at BiscuitVille

Are There Side Effects of Eating Gluten-Free Sour Patch Kids?

Going gluten-free could be good for your health, but it comes with its side effects too. You may experience inconveniences like bloating, constipation, diarrhea, and certain nutritional deficiencies.

SEE: Find Out if You Should Eat Cheerios on a Gluten-Free Diet

FAQs

Are Sour Patch Kids gluten-free and dairy-free?

Yes, Sour Patch Kids do not contain any gluten ingredients and are dairy-free.

Are Sour Patch Kids vegan?

If you and your kids are eating vegan, you all can have Sour Patch Kids. Instead of gelatin and eggs, the bouncy gooey texture of these gummy candies is achieved with corn syrup and modified corn starch.

Are Sour Patch Jelly Beans gluten-free?

Yes, Sour Patch Jelly Beans are gluten-free. They are gluten-free certified, but they do not contain any gluten ingredients.

Conclusion

Is your favorite gummy candy gluten-free? Yes, Sour Patch Kids are gluten-free. If you or any of your kids have gluten sensitivity, you can have these indulgent candies. However, you should remember that Sour Patch Kids are not certified gluten-free.

The gluten-free status is only based on an assessment of the ingredients they contain. Therefore, it is advised that only people with mild gluten sensitivity can safely eat Sour Patch Kids. If you have a celiac condition, you probably shouldn’t take chances. Instead, look for a certified gluten-free gummy candy.

Thanks for reading.

If you’re eating gluten-free, Cheffist is the place to read the best guides to help you pick your meals.