A lot of people want to know what it is they are eating, the ingredients in their meals and how they are made. This is because of individual preferences and diet. If you’re one of such, you want to know if you can eat spring rolls on a gluten-free diet. It may hurt to hear this, but spring rolls are not gluten-free.
Spring rolls are a great snack for everyone. However, celiacs know better than just jumping on one. They’d rather scrutinize the wrapper and fillings for any gluten ingredients. Continue reading to see more on this.
What Are Spring Rolls?
Spring rolls are from Asian cuisine. The Americans have adopted this cuisine for breakfast as an appetizer, a snack, or a main dish. Spring rolls are common items on many restaurants’ menus.
Furthermore, spring rolls are made of a wrapper and fillings. The wrappers are made with flour, while the fillings can be anything you want according to your preferences. While some people would rather have beef, some prefer vegetable fillings.
You can choose to eat spring rolls alone as a snack or quick meal. Also, you can serve them with side dishes like coleslaw, falafel, roasted vegetables, fried rice, or sweet and sour sauce.
Are Spring Rolls Gluten-Free?
Not all spring rolls are gluten-free. The majority of them contain gluten either because of an ingredient in the wrapper or an ingredient in the filling.
If you’re buying spring rolls, be sure to verify that they are safe to eat because of your gluten sensitivity. Also, you can be safer by making your own gluten-free spring rolls at home.
Are Spring Rolls Wrappers Gluten-Free?
The majority of spring rolls have wrappers that are made with wheat flour, and this makes them contain gluten. To identify these spring rolls, examine the thickness of the wrappers.
Wrappers made with wheat flour are thick, firm, and opaque. On the other hand, wrappers made with rice are light, transparent, and white. Spring rolls made with these wrappers do not have gluten.
Are Spring Rolls Fillings Gluten-Free?
The fillings in the spring roll also determine if it’s gluten-free. For instance, if the fillings contain soy sauce or meat, be sure it’s not made with any gluten ingredients.
Again, if you’re sure the wrapper is gluten-free, you have to double-check for gluten ingredients in the fillings. Read the label to check for gluten ingredients.
What Are the Benefits of Eating Spring Rolls?
Spring rolls are healthy meals. Each spring roll gives about 80-110 calories. Rice wrappers spring rolls are low in calories (they contain less than 100 calories) and fats. These spring rolls do not leave you feeling heavy after eating them.
In addition, spring rolls contain a lot of nutrients, and you can modify them to suit your preferences. If you want more dietary fiber, you can add more vegetables like lettuce. Spring rolls with vegetable fillings are highly nourishing and chock full of vitamins and minerals.
Moreover, spring rolls that are rich in fiber can help you control your appetite and aid weight loss.
Are There Side Effects of Eating Spring Rolls?
Store-bought spring rolls may not be gluten-free unless the label says so. If you have gluten sensitivity, eating spring rolls could cause diarrhea, constipation, bloating, nausea, headache, and other symptoms of gluten allergy.
Moreover, the side effects of eating spring rolls can be stopped and avoided if you eat in moderation. Eating too many spring rolls may predispose you to heart disease, high blood pressure, and excessive weight gain.
Gluten-Free Spring Rolls Recipe
To be more careful, you can make your spring rolls at home. Follow this recipe to make 15-20 servings of spring rolls.
For the wrappers
- One cup of gluten-free flour
- 3 tablespoons of corn starch or rice flour
- ¼ teaspoon of salt
- Mix the flours with the salt in a clean bowl
- Then, add water and mix well until you have a smooth batter that is not too thick or too watery
- Afterward, put a non-stick frypan on the stove and brush it with oil
- Cook the batter like you would cook pancakes but they should be thin and transparent. Otherwise, the wrappers will break
- Also, you don’t have to turn both sides to get the wrappers to cook properly
- When you’re done frying the wrappers you can set them aside
For the fillings
- 2 small onions or 1 large onion
- 4 carrots
- Half of a medium-sized cabbage or a very small cabbage
- 2 garlic cloves
- Shrimps (optional and if you would rather have it, use as you want)
- 2 medium-sized bell peppers
- 2 tablespoons of tomato paste
- 1 tablespoon of freshly chopped coriander leaves
- 1 tablespoon of gluten-free tamari
- Salt to taste
- 5 tablespoons of oil
- Any spice or seeds you want to add
- Start with dicing the onions, pepper, cabbage, and carrots. Also, mince the garlic cloves
- Place a clean skillet or saucepan on the stove at medium-high heat and pour about 2 tablespoons of oil
- Then, stir in the diced onions and pepper
- Afterward, stir in the minced garlic, pepper, tomato paste, salt, spices, tamari, and shrimps
- After a minute or two, stir in the cabbage and coriander leaves so they wilt and soften a little
- Turn off the heat and set the filling aside. When it cools, drain off the liquid, so you have a dry mixture
- Thereafter, preheat the oven to 390°F (200°C) and then line a baking sheet with parchment paper
- If you bought rice paper wrappers, you’ll need to dip them in warm water, one at a time, to soften them and make the wrapping process easier. But if you made your wrappers according to this recipe, you don’t have to soak them in water
- Place the wraps on the chopping board or tray, then, take a spoon of fillings and place it on the lower part of the wrapper
- Then, wrap. Pick up the sides of the wrapper, fold them in and roll upwards. Make sure you’re rolling the wrapper over the fillings as snugly as you can
- Repeat the last three steps for all the wrappers until you have exhausted the fillings
- Thereafter, place the spring rolls on the prepared baking sheet and brush them with oil and sprinkle the seeds (if you’re adding seeds). Then, begin to bake
- The baking process will take around 20-20 minutes but after fifteen minutes, flip the rolls to the other side and brush again with oil
- The rolls should look golden brown and crispy when they are ready. Serve with any sauce of your choice
Are spring rolls healthy?
Yes, they are. Spring rolls contain a lot of nutrients- vitamins and minerals. Moreover, the spring rolls recipe is very flexible, you can switch ingredients to what works for you.
Are spring roll fillings vegan?
Not all spring rolls are vegan. Although spring rolls with vegetable fillings are most common, some spring rolls still contain non-vegan ingredients like those of animal origin. If you want vegan spring rolls, you should go where they are sold and read the label for non-vegan ingredients.
In addition, you can make your spring rolls at home, so you can be sure of what goes into the rolls.
Are rice paper spring rolls gluten-free?
Rice papers are gluten-free. However, the fillings in the rolls may not be gluten-free. Therefore, not all rice paper spring rolls are gluten-free.
Most spring rolls are not gluten-free. The wrappers and fillings may contain gluten ingredients and make them unfit for celiacs and people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS).
If you’re gluten-sensitive, you have to watch it. You can also follow the recipe and make your spring rolls at home, to be sure they are 100% gluten-free. This way, there is no risk of cross-contamination.
Thanks for reading.
On a gluten-free diet? Visit Cheffist to read related articles that provide relevant information on what and what not to eat on a gluten-free diet.