Can You Eat Tootsie Rolls Candy if You’re Gluten-Free?

Share this:

When Easter and Halloween are close, candies like Tootsie Rolls become more common in stores. Don’t be surprised if your kids won’t let you be until you get a pack. But while you’re buying you’re most likely wondering if Tootsie Rolls are gluten-free and okay for your kids with gluten sensitivity.

These are one of the things you should worry about if your family is gluten sensitive. Perhaps it’s just that kid who’s gluten-free. Ahead, you’ll find answers to your questions about the gluten status of Tootsie Rolls.

What Are Tootsie Rolls?

Tootsie Rolls are chocolate candies made from sugar, corn syrup, palm oil, condensed skim milk, soy lecithin, cocoa, whey, and artificial and natural flavors. These treats have great similarities with taffies. They are light, fluffy, and chewy.

Tootsie Rolls are manufactured by Tootsie Rolls Industries, a confections company located in Chicago, Illinois. Furthermore, Tootsie Rolls Industries have another candy, Tootsie Fruit Chews, that has a similar texture to Tootsie Rolls. But they have different flavors.

In addition, these candies taste a lot like cocoa and they also have a subtle fruity taste to complement the cocoa.

Are Tootsie Rolls Gluten-Free?

Yes. All the Tootsie Rolls flavors are gluten-free.

Tootsie Rolls Industry’s website states that “All of our confections are gluten-free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes the dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.”

SEE: Find Out If Sour Patch Kids Gluten-Free Candy

Are Tootsie Rolls Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free?

All Tootsie Rolls are gluten-free but they are not dairy-free. They contain whey and condensed skim milk. Therefore, they are not suitable for people following a dairy-free diet.

Do You Need to Eat Tootsie Rolls?

Tootsie Rolls are great for midday snacking or to satisfy your sweet tooth. Six pieces of Tootsie Rolls sum up to about 20 grams of sugar which is just a little below the recommended daily sugar intake. So, you might want to be careful while you snack on them.

Moreover, they contain other ingredients like artificial flavors, artificial colors, and hydrogenated soybean oil which can be harmful to the body if taken in excess.

SEE: Get a Chance to win a $500 Wawa Gift Card

Are There Side Effects of Eating Gluten-Free Tootsie Rolls?

Eating gluten-free Tootsie Rolls does not have many side effects. Because you are off gluten ingredients, you may be missing out on some vital nutrients like vitamins and minerals. Also, the candy may have a high sugar and calorie content which can result in weight gain.

To be safe, read the nutritional facts about the gluten-free candy you want to eat. Be sure that you’re healthy as you go gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Tootsie Flavors

  • Original Tootsie Roll
  • Tootsie Roll Midgees
  • Tootsie Roll Vanilla Midgees
  • Tootsie Roll Mini Bites
  • Tootsie Roll Snack Bars
  • Tootsie Fruit Chews
  • Tootsie Roll Fruit Chew Mini Bites

SEE: Can You Eat Snickers on a Gluten-Free Diet?

Gluten-Free Tootsie Rolls Recipe

Follow this recipe to make 40-45 Tootsie Rolls at home with your kids during the Easter or Halloween holidays.

Ingredients

  • 2.5 oz. of chopped unsweetened chocolate
  • 3 cups of confectioner sugar
  • 1 cup of corn syrup
  • 3 tablespoons of unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of powdered milk

Instructions

  • Melt the chopped chocolate in a small bowl in another bowl of hot water
  • Then, transfer the melted chocolate into the bowl you’ll be using to mix all your ingredients
  • Stir the corn syrup into the melted chocolate
  • Afterward, stir in the butter until it melts
  • Also, stir in the powdered milk and vanilla extract until you have an even mixture
  • You should do all these quickly while the chocolate is still hot
  • Thereafter, stir in 2 ½ cups of the sugar until you have an even mixture. You should have a thick mixture by now
  • You’ll need the remaining sugar to dust your worktop for kneading the candy
  • Knead the candy on the sugar-dusted top until it’s firm but not too dry. If you need to add more sugar for firmness, add some more
  • When you’re sure your candy is firm enough, break off a little and roll it in-between your palms so you have a thick and long strip of chocolate candy
  • Then, cut the long strip into small Tootsies
  • Gather all the Tootsies in a tray and refrigerate until they are very firm
  • When you take them out of the refrigerator, you can choose to wrap them individually or leave them as they are
  • Store the Tootsies in an airtight container and refrigerate for 10-14 days

SEE: Find Out if You Should Eat Cheerios on a Gluten-Free Diet

FAQs

Can celiacs eat Tootsie Rolls?

Yes. If you have a celiac condition, you can safely eat Tootsie Rolls. Tootsie Rolls Industries does not use any gluten grain in the production of its candies.

Are Vanilla Tootsie Rolls gluten-free and dairy-free?

Vanilla Tootsie Rolls are gluten-free but not dairy-free. It contains condensed skim milk and whey which are dairy products.

Are Tootsie Rolls Midgees gluten-free?

Yes, Tootsie Rolls Midgees are gluten-free.

Are Tootsie Rolls vegan?

Tootsie Rolls are not vegan. They contain dairy products that are of animal origin. If you’re eating vegan, Tootsie Rolls are not the candies for you.

Are Tootsie Rolls kosher?

Tootsie Rolls are certified kosher by the Orthodox Union (OU). Therefore, you can serve it at Passover.

Conclusion

You got your answer. Tootsie Rolls are gluten-free. While you’re Easter and Halloween shopping for your kids’ candy, you can joyfully snatch a bag without worry for your gluten-free kid. Tootsie Rolls Industries specifically doesn’t use any gluten grain in the production of their candies.

So all your children can safely enjoy the deliciousness of Tootsie Rolls during the Easter or Halloween holidays.

Thanks for reading.

If you’re eating gluten-free, Cheffist is the place to read the best guides to help you pick your meals.