Lent is a period set apart to remember the fasting Jesus embarked on before his triumphant entry into Jerusalem. If you wish to partake in this program, you might want to enquire more about what you can eat, so, can you eat chicken on lent?
No, you can not eat chicken on lent. All forms of meat, which include chicken, pork, beef, lamb, deer, and ham, are to be abstained from during Lent.
If you want to know more about lent, its law and obligation, what you ought to abstain from, and what you can eat, then read on.
What is lent?
Lent is a period of fasting used in the remembrance of the 40 days and 40 nights fasting of Jesus Christ. This event also marks his triumphant entry into Jerusalem, although it is not obligatory for all Christians.
But to Catholic Christians, lent is one of the most important periods of the year. During this period, all Christians above 14 years abstain from eating meat on specific days.
What are the benefits of partaking in the lent program?
According to St. Thomas Aquinas (one of the world’s well renowned Catholic priests), the following are the benefits of participating in lent fasting;
- Builds your spiritual life
- Atonement of sin
- Suppresses the lust of the flesh
- Fasting empowers your prayer life
- Build self-control.
What are the laws associated with lent and fasting in general?
Now that you are well enlightened about the benefits of lent fasting, let us see the laws associated with this prestigious event;
1. You are obliged to fast on Ash Wednesday and Fridays during the lent period
All participants from age 14 – 60 are expected to indulge in the fasting program, however if you have health challenges, you may be exempted. The church has set these days of fasting to be on Wednesdays and Fridays.
Although, the law still allows individuals to eat light meals in the morning and late in the evening. This law also permits liquids, such as tea, coffee, juice, and milk, as they believe it is not in violation of the lent fasting.
2. You are obliged to abstain from flesh meat
Can you eat chicken on lent?
No, you can’t. Because meat is the flesh of any warm-blooded mammal or bird; they include pork, cow, deer, chicken, turkey, etc. Following this definition, it is quite obvious that chicken is considered meat and should be avoided.
That being said, it is okay to eat food that was cooked with chicken broth. This is because the broth is not the same as the meat from the chicken.
Are there alternatives to chicken you can try instead?
Yes, there are. Some alternative to chicken and other kinds of meat includes;
Tempeh is one of the closest alternatives to chicken, but it is made of soybeans, originating from Indonesia. It has a light brown color that is relative to that of chicken, and people often say it reminds them of chicken breast.
Tofu contains a high amount of protein, iron, and potassium, all of which meat offers. It comes in a variety of shape, sizes, and texture that is considered similar to meat.
SEE: Does Tofu Go Bad?
3. Unripe jackfruit
People often associate the taste of unripe jackfruit with that of pork, and this is because it has a similar meaty and savory taste that mimics that of pork.
Lentils are another healthy meat alternative, and they are particularly high in protein, fiber, and vitamins. Also, low in fat, folate, phosphorus, and potassium.
Can you eat fish on lent?
Yes, you can. There have been many confusing theories about eating fish on lent. But according to the United State Conference of Catholic Bishops, fish is considered a different category of animal.
They further clarified that meat is considered the flesh of animals that lives on land, and these animals include chicken, pork, deer, cow, and sheep.
Can you eat egg on lent?
Yes, you can. An egg is not meat; even though it is gotten from chicken, it is not fertilized and cannot be a real chicken, and the best way to classify an egg is as a protein group food.
Which food can you eat on lent?
You can still enjoy healthy dishes without including meat, even vegans do this every single day, and they are still healthy. Some of the food you can eat during lent include;
- Milk, butter, yogurt, cheese, and other milk products
- Vegetables or salads
- Noodle, bread, donuts, and other grains
- Shrimp skewers
- Pear Bruschetta
- Veggie pizza
Who is exempted from fasting on lent?
For most people, fasting may have some severe effects on them, so they are mostly exempted. Some of these people include;
- Elders above age 60
- Children below the age of 14
- Pregnant or nursing mothers
- Sick or frail individuals
- Mentally impaired individuals.
Can you eat turkey gravy on lent?
Yes, you can. Because turkey gravy is made from turkey stock and not the actual flesh of the animal.
Do you have to abstain from meat for the whole lent period?
No, you don’t. Only Ash Wednesdays and Fridays are designated for abstaining from meat.
Is chicken white or red meat?
Chicken and all other poultry are considered white meat.
Do you have to go the whole day without eating?
No, you don’t. You can eat one whole meat and two light meals, as long as your total intake is less than two complete meals.
Do all Christians have to partake in the lent program?
It is not compulsory for all Christian, you can also choose not to partake in the lent event.
Conclusion: Can you eat chicken on lent or is it a sin?
No, you can’t. All sorts of meat are prohibited during the lent period, whether pork, beef, deer, or chicken. You can see other healthy alternatives to meat you can try in this article.
I hope you enjoyed this article, if you did, you should also see how common salmonella is in chicken and some safety measures you can take.
Thank you for reading this article.