Find Out if Ginger Beer Is the Best Option for a Gluten-Free Diet

If you’re gluten-free, it doesn’t mean you cannot enjoy a good beer after a tiring day or on a cool evening. While some people off gluten prefer to stay away from beer to avoid getting gluten into their system, it’s not always likely. For instance, you can enjoy gluten-free ginger beer.

Generally, ginger beers are gluten-free. But, you have to be cautious as different brands make their beers differently. So, how do you know if your ginger beer does not contain gluten ingredients? That is what this article looks into.

When you find a brand of ginger beer you think will taste good, the first thing to do is take a good look at the ingredients list. There may be additives or cross-contaminated ingredients that will make the beer unfit for your gluten sensitivity.

What Is Ginger Beer?

Ginger beer is a deviation from regular beers. It is a non-alcoholic beverage; it is a carbonated soda made with ginger extract. Ginger beer is manufactured by carbonating a mixture of ginger, water, sugar, yeast, other ingredients like stabilizers, and natural and artificial flavors.

Furthermore, you may find that some ginger beers are lightly alcoholic. Another thing to note is that ginger beer is not the same as ginger ale. Ginger beers have a stronger ginger flavor, unlike ginger ales, which are made with carbonated water, ginger flavor, sugar, coloring, and sweeteners.

In addition, you can use ginger beer in different ways. You can add it to cocktails or drink it as it is. Either way, you’ll be enjoying a great treat.

Is Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

Most ginger beers are gluten-free. They are made of ginger roots and sugar. Contrary to what it is called, ginger beer is not a beer. In recent times, it is rather manufactured instead of fermented.

However, this does not mean all ginger beers are gluten-free. Some of them contain additives that may be cross-contaminated with gluten and make the beer unfit for your gluten sensitivity.

Is Zevia Mixer Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

Zevia Mixer ginger beer is one the healthiest ginger beers there is. This ginger beer has no calories, no artificial sweeteners, or colors. It is also naturally flavored and vegan-friendly.

SEE: What Does Ginger Ale Taste Like?

Is Reed’s Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

Reed’s ginger beer is a non-alcoholic gluten-free ginger beer. It is made with natural flavors and does not contain genetically modified organisms (GMOs). The ingredients in Reed’s ginger beer are fresh ginger root, pineapple juice, lemon juice, lime juice, honey, and spices.

However, not all Reed’s ginger beers are vegan. The zero sugar version is vegan, but the Original Reed’s ginger beer contains honey. So, it is not vegan.

Is Cock ‘n Bull Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

Cock ‘n Bull ginger beer does not contain any gluten ingredients. Asides from the ginger extract in this non-alcoholic beverage, the other ingredients are sugar and cherry flavor.

Moreover, the brand’s website declares all varieties of their ginger beers gluten-free.

SEE: What Are Gluten-Free Beers?

Is James Squire Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

James Squire does not declare its ginger beer as gluten-free. But with the major ingredients being ginger extract, sugar, and yeast, you can call it a gluten-free beer. If you’re gluten-intolerant based on personal preferences, you may have a can of James Squire ginger beer on some days.

Celiacs, on the other hand, will need to get more information by reading the label to be sure there are no gluten additives in the beer.

Is Crabbies Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

Yes, Crabbies ginger beer does not contain gluten and is also alcoholic. Crabbies’ official website declares this ginger beer free of gluten. Therefore, if you have a celiac condition, you can safely enjoy a can of chilled Crabbies ginger beer without fear of a reaction.

Is Bundaberg Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

All Bundaberg’s brews do not contain gluten and this includes their ginger beer. If you don’t find Crabbies ginger beer, you can safely drink Bundaberg’s with gluten intolerance.

Is Gosling’s Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

Gosling’s is one of the most sold ginger beers in America. There is an assumption that this beer is gluten-free because the ingredients list does not contain any gluten ingredients.

However, you cannot be too sure. Gosling’s has two ginger beer varieties- Gosling’s Stormy ginger beer and Gosling’s Diet ginger beer.

If you have celiac disease, you should carefully examine the ingredients list for any additives that contain gluten. If you find any gluten ingredients, drop Gosling’s and look for another beer you’re sure does not contain gluten.

Is Brookvale Union Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

Brookvale Union is one of those companies that outrightly tell you that they cannot declare their ginger beer gluten-free. This is because the ginger beer is also processed in the same facility where they produce their gluten beers.

There is a likely possibility that the ginger beer is cross-contaminated with gluten. Consequently, the beer may not be 100% fit for people with gluten sensitivity, especially celiacs.

Is Matso’s Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

Matso’s ginger beer is a gluten-free and mildly alcoholic drink. It also has a low sugar content and is vegan-friendly.

Is Fever Tree Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

Yes, Fever Tree ginger beer does not contain gluten. None of the ingredients in the beer contains gluten, but the company does not certify the beer as gluten-free. Notwithstanding, Fever Tree ginger beer is a great mixer for Moscow Mules and Dark ‘n Stormy cocktails.

SEE: Are Hard Ciders the Best Gluten-Free Option for You?

Is Barritts Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

The two varieties of Barritt’s ginger beer- Barritts Original and Barritts Sugar-Free- do not contain gluten. They are sweetened with cane sugar which makes them also vegan-friendly.

Is Q Ginger Beer Gluten-Free?

Q Mixer’s ginger beer does not contain any gluten ingredients. It is a spicy, low-sugar beer made only for mixing with vodka, rum, and whiskey. If you have a gluten-free whiskey and you need the sharp, spicy taste of a ginger beer, you can opt for Q Mixer ginger beer.

Is Ginger Beer Good for You?

Ginger beer may not always be alcoholic because not all brands are beers. Here are some health benefits you may enjoy from drinking ginger beer:

  • You’ll  experience improved digestion when you take ginger beer often
  • Ginger beer can help to reduce nausea
  • Drinking ginger beer may help reduce inflammation and work as an analgesic
  • Also, ginger beer has antibacterial properties. It can help relieve inflammation in the respiratory tract
  • In addition, drinking ginger beer can help increase dopamine levels and consequently slow down aging and improve mental health
  • Ginger beer has the potential to reduce the risk of getting colorectal cancer

SEE: Is Budweiser Light Gluten-Free?

Are There Side Effects of Drinking Gluten-Free Ginger Beer?

Gluten-free ginger beers are carbonated beverages. When you have too much ginger beer, you may experience gassiness, excessive burping, and bloating.

Moreover, because gluten-free ginger beer does not contain gluten, you’ll be missing out on essential nutrients like fiber, vitamin B, and other micronutrients.

In addition, when you drink a lot of spicy ginger beers, you may experience any of these symptoms:

  • Heartburn
  • Irregular blood clotting
  • Diarrhea
  • Gas and bloating
  • Overly reduced blood sugar levels
  • It may react with some medications

SEE: Get Free Drinks From Sonic Restaurant

Gluten-Free Ginger Beer Recipe

This recipe will make twelve glasses of ginger beer

Ingredients

  • 3 cups of freshly minced ginger
  • ½ cup of sugar (you can modify this based on personal preferences)
  • 8 cups of water
  • ½ teaspoon of yeast
  • 1 cup of lemon juice

Instructions

  • Boil the sugar, ginger, and 4 cups of water in a saucepan until the sugar dissolves
  • Take it off the heat and allow it to cool and steep for one hour
  • Then strain the liquid and collect the juice
  • Afterward, add the lime juice and the remaining 4 cups of water
  • Transfer the liquid into a bottle and refrigerate until the temperature reaches 65°F
  • Bring it out of the refrigerator and add the yeast
  • Allow the bottle of liquid to stand at room temperature for two to three days. During this period, it will go through fermentation. So, you have to check on it and slowly release the pressure inside the bottle at least twice a day
  • When your ginger beer is fermented enough, release the pressure in the bottle one more time and refrigerate
  • Consume the ginger beer within one week

FAQs

Is ginger beer vegan?

Not all ginger beers are vegan. A brand like Crabbies does not produce vegan ginger beer. If you practice a restrictive diet, you should always take extra care to look up the products you’re eating or drinking before consuming them.

Can celiacs drink ginger ale?

Most ginger ales are gluten-free, but you can always check the label again for gluten ingredients.

Is Schweppes ginger beer gluten-free?

Schweppes ginger beer does not contain gluten ingredients, but it may not be gluten-free.

The flavor used in this non-alcoholic beverage contains malt extract, which is gotten from barley and gluten grain. You might want to stay off this ginger beer if you’re gluten-sensitive.

Is Saranac ginger beer gluten-free?

Saranac ginger beer is gluten-free. It is also vegan and lactose-free.

Conclusion

As mentioned earlier, you don’t have to stay off beer if you’re gluten-free. You can enjoy a chilled can of ginger beer among other gluten-free beers like Anheuser-Busch Redbridge Lager beer.

Most ginger beers are gluten-free, but you should take extra care to go through the ingredient list. If you find any gluten ingredient as the main ingredient or an additive, don’t drink it. Buy the gluten-free ginger beers listed in the article and stick to them instead.

Thanks for reading.

If you’re eating gluten-free, Cheffist is the place to read the best guides to help you pick your meals.