See if You Should Eat Snickers on a Gluten-Free Diet

Share this:

Eating gluten-free doesn’t exempt you from having cravings. If you’re a lover of chocolate candy bars, you want to know what is safe for you and what is not, regardless of your sweet tooth cravings. This begs the question, is Snickers gluten-free?

The answer is brief; Snickers is gluten-free, but there is no third-party certification for this. This means that if you have gluten sensitivity, a bar of Snickers may not always be a good idea. The Snickers candies have different versions, which means that not all of them are gluten-free.

Continue reading this article to see more details on the gluten status of Snickers candy bars.

What Are Snickers?

Snickers are chocolate candy bars produced by Mars, an American company. The candy bars contain nougat, peanuts, and caramel which are covered in milk chocolate.

The most famous Snickers tagline, “you are not you when you’re hungry,” well describes the bar of goodness as it is indeed satisfying. Per serving, Snickers chocolate contains 250 calories, 12g total fat, 32g carbohydrate, 4g protein, 28g sugars, and other nutrients.

However, the above nutritional value varies with different Snickers versions. Some popular Snickers Bars are Snickers Original, Snickers Mini, Snickers Brownie, Snickers Peanut Butter, Snickers Protein Bar, Snickers Ice Cream Bar, and Snickers Almond.

SEE: Are Twizzlers Gluten Free or Not?

Is Snickers Gluten-Free?

Snickers do not contain any gluten ingredients. However, this does not certify them gluten-free. That’s because some of the Snickers bars may contain gluten due to cross-contamination during production.

If you are gluten-free as a lifestyle or because of mild gluten intolerance, you may enjoy a Snickers bar in moderation. But you must watch out for any reactions during or after snacking on the bar of chocolate.

Is Snickers Ice Cream Bars Gluten-Free?

No, it isn’t. Snickers Ice Cream bars are not gluten-free. Although they do not contain gluten, the allergen information shows that the bars may contain wheat due to cross-contamination. If you’re celiac or you have gluten sensitivity, you should stay off these Snickers bars and eat another version.

Is Snickers Protein Bar Gluten-Free?

Yes, Snickers Protein bars are gluten-free plus vegan. So, if you need a gluten-free protein bar before setting out for the day, you can try a bar of Snickers. However, there is no certification for its gluten-free status. If you’re not celiac, but you’re eating gluten-free, feel free to indulge.

SEE: Find Out if Protein Bars Are a Healthy Choice for a Gluten-Free Diet

Is Snickers Creamy Peanut Butter Squares Gluten-Free?

Yes, it is. If you’re eating gluten-free, you can snack on a bar of Snickers Creamy Peanut Butter Squares. But this does not apply to people with celiac disease. Snickers bars are not certified gluten-free. This means that they may be contaminated with gluten.

Is Snickers Peanut Brownie Squares Chocolate Candy Gluten-Free?

Snickers Peanut Brownie Squares Chocolate Candy is gluten-free. It does not contain any gluten ingredients; thereby making it safe for people eating gluten-free as a lifestyle or because of mild gluten sensitivity.

But, because Snickers bars are not certified gluten-free, this version of Snickers may not be safe for celiacs.

SEE: How to Get Free Sandwich at Honey Baked

Is Snickers Blizzard Gluten-Free?

Snickers Blizzard treat does not contain any gluten ingredients. The allergen information doesn’t show wheat as a possible ingredient. However, since the blizzard machine is used to make different flavors of blizzards, cross-contamination may occur.

Furthermore, some of the toppings served on the blizzards may contain wheat, barley, or rye. Therefore, if you have gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, you should let the staff taking your order know that. You should also request that they clean the machine before preparing your blizzard.

Is Snickers White Chocolate Gluten-Free?

Snickers White Chocolate does not contain gluten ingredients, but it is not certified gluten-free. You can have this snack bar if you’re eating gluten-free as a lifestyle. But, with the celiac condition, it’s a no-no.

Gluten-Free Alternatives for Snickers

  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bars
  • Hershey’s Milk Duds
  • 3 Musketeers Bars
  • M&M candy (except the crispy, pretzel, and seasonal varieties)
  • Dark Chocolate Milky Way
  • Starburst
  • Butterfingers (except Butterfinger Crisp)
  • Original Rolo Caramels
  • Heath Bars
  • Skittles
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Payday Candy
  • Mound Bars
  • Reese Peanut Butter Cups

SEE: Are Klondike Bars Gluten-Free and Edible for Celiacs?

Are There Side Effects of Gluten-Free Snickers?

Snickers bars are not certified gluten-free. If you eat them as a celiac, you may experience the side effects of eating gluten foods. But with mild gluten sensitivity, your digestive tract is not in so much danger.

Recipe for Homemade Snickers Bars

If you’re very mindful of the ingredients in your chocolate bars, but you love Snickers, you can indulge yourself by making yourself some Snickers bars. Follow this recipe to make 24 Snickers bars:

Ingredients

For the nougat:

  • 2 ½ cups of pureed cashew nuts
  • 1 ½ cup of roasted and blanched hazelnuts
  • 1 ½ cup of oats
  • 5 Medjool dates
  • 3-4 tablespoons of peanut butter

For the caramel:

  • 1 ½ cup of coconut milk
  • 1 ½ cup of peanuts
  • 15-18 tablespoons of maple syrup
  • 9 tablespoons of smooth peanut butter
  • Salt

The coating:

  • Dark chocolate
  • 2-3 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • You’ll also need a cake tin

Instructions

  • Blend all the ingredients for the nougat in the food processor to a puree. Make sure they are sticky before you stop blending
  • Line the cake tin with parchment paper and pour the nougat into the tin
  • Afterward, melt the ingredients for the caramel layer except for the peanuts in a clean saucepan until the mixture boils
  • Make sure you stir continuously until it thickens
  • Add the salt and bring down the saucepan
  • After, spread the caramel over the nougat and sprinkle the peanuts
  • Keep the cake tin in the freezer to solidify
  • When you take it out, cut the nougat and caramel layer into small bars
  • Then, melt the dark chocolate and coconut oil for the coating
  • Dip each bar into the melted chocolate and coconut oil and lay aside
  • Serve or gather them into a freezer bag or airtight container and freeze

SEE: Find Out if You Should Eat Cheerios on a Gluten-Free Diet

FAQs

Is Snickers dark chocolate almond brownie gluten-free?

Yes, it is. If you have gluten sensitivity, you can safely eat Snickers Dark Chocolate Almond Brownie Chocolate Candy Fun Size Bars.

Do Snickers contain wheat?

The Snickers bars do not contain wheat according to the ingredients list and the allergen information.

Can celiacs eat Snickers?

The safest people with celiac disease need to avoid Snickers. Although the candy bars do contain gluten, they are not certified as gluten-free. This means that there is the possibility of cross-contamination during production.

Are Snickers gluten-free and dairy-free?

Snickers bars are not dairy-free. They have a milk coating and also contain skim milk. If you’re dairy-free, stay off Snickers.

Are Snickers vegan?

No, Snickers candy bars are not gluten-free. If you look at the ingredient list, you’ll find that the chocolate bars contain egg whites and milk, which are dairy products. So, if you’re vegan, a bar of Snickers is not for you.

Conclusion

Mars is one of those organizations that take allergen management very seriously. You can trust that the information on the labels is authentic. This can help you determine if a Snickers bar is gluten-free and safe for you to eat.

Snickers chocolate candy bars do not contain any gluten ingredients but they are not certified as gluten-free. The safest you can be, with gluten sensitivity, is to avoid Snickers. If you will eat it, it should be in moderation. Most importantly, at the slightest reaction, drop the bar of chocolate.

Thanks for reading.

Check Cheffist for more articles that tell you what’s fit for a gluten-free diet.