See If Sweetened Condensed Milk Is Gluten-Free

A lot of people prefer sweetened condensed milk over evaporated milk because it’s creamier, thicker, and sweeter. But not everyone can just jump on food because it’s good. People with gluten sensitivity will want to know if sweetened condensed milk is gluten-free.

Yes, sweetened condensed milk is gluten-free. If you need sweetened milk products for your gluten-free cakes, cheesecake, shortbreads, cocktails, and milkshakes, you can safely add sweetened condensed to your recipe.

Let’s take a quick look at this creamy milk product and what makes it what it is.

What is sweetened condensed milk?

Sweetened condensed milk is a form of cow milk that is condensed by removing about 60% water and adding sugar to it. In comparison with evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk is darker, thicker, and creamier, and the sugar takes up about 45% of it.

Furthermore, during the pasteurization process, the milk undergoes some processes that make it shelf-stable. This is why sweetened condensed milk has a very long shelf life and it makes it a more preferred option. It is sold in cans in the baking aisle of supermarkets.

You can use sweetened condensed milk in any recipe that requires sugar and cream. It is a common ingredient in baked goods, candies, fudges, ice cream, puddings, frostings, and toppings.

Is sweetened condensed milk gluten-free?

Yes, it is. All varieties of sweetened condensed milk are certified gluten-free. They do not contain any gluten ingredients and are therefore safe for anyone with celiac condition or non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS).

SEE: Does Sweetened Condensed Milk Go Bad?

Is sweetened condensed milk good for you?

If you take sweetened condensed milk in small measured portions, it is healthy. One tablespoon of sweetened condensed milk contains about 62 calories, 2g protein, 2g fats, 10g carbohydrates, 54mg calcium, 71mg potassium, and other minerals and vitamins.

All these nutrients work together to strengthen the bones and teeth, lower cholesterol levels, improve heart health, lower blood pressure, improve circulation, support muscle growth and repair, and increase immunity.

SEE: Is Heavy Cream a Better Option Than Condensed Milk?

Are there side effects of taking sweetened condensed milk?

Too much consumption of sweetened condensed milk could be unhealthy. It packs a punch of calories and sugar that could lead to excessive weight gain, especially if you’re trying to lose weight instead. It could also cause obesity in children.

In addition, sweetened condensed milk contains more lactose and milk proteins, making it unfit for people with a dairy allergy or lactose intolerance.

SEE: Find Out What Makes The Panda Milk Tea So Unique

Homemade sweetened condensed milk recipe

This recipe makes up to three cups of sweetened condensed milk.

Ingredients

  • 4 ½ cups of dairy or non-dairy milk (coconut milk, oat milk, soy milk, or almond milk)
  • 1 ½ or 2 cups of unrefined sugar
  • 9 tablespoons of butter
  • 3 teaspoons of pure vanilla

Instructions

  • Mix the sugar and the milk in a heavy-bottomed saucepan on medium-low heat
  • Stir continuously until the sugar dissolves completely
  • Continue stirring until steam lifts off the milk
  • Then, lower the heat
  • Leave the saucepan on the stove to reduce the amount of milk in the pan by half
  • This will take a few hours, so you can leave the stove on low heat while you go about other chores. But you should keep an eye on the milk
  • Afterward, when the milk is thick to your desire, you can take it off the heat
  • If you used dairy milk, pour the condensed milk through a sieve to remove caramelized bits
  • Thereafter, transfer the sweetened condensed milk into a heat-safe container
  • Leave it to cool before you cover it tightly
  • Refrigerate homemade sweetened condensed milk for two to four weeks

SEE: Step-By-Step Guide On How To Make Milk From Evaporated Milk

FAQs

Is sweetened condensed milk vegan?

No, it isn’t. Sweetened condensed milk is not vegan. If you’re eating vegan, you can make vegan condensed milk by replacing dairy milk with plant-based kinds of milk like oat milk, coconut milk, cashew milk, soy milk, and almond milk.

Is sweetened condensed milk dairy-free?

No, it is not. Sweetened condensed milk is not dairy-free. If you have a dairy allergy, you can make a dairy-free sweetened condensed milk by replacing dairy milk with non-dairy milk like coconut milk.

Is sweetened condensed milk lactose-free?

No, it is not. Sweetened condensed milk contains high amounts of lactose. Therefore, it is not safe for people who are lactose intolerant.

Is sweetened condensed milk the same as condensed milk?

Yes. Sweetened condensed milk is the same as condensed milk. Sweetened condensed milk and condensed milk are synonyms of each other.

Is sweetened condensed milk better than evaporated milk?

Sweetened condensed milk is evaporated milk that has more sugar. It is also thicker, more syrupy, and darker in color but does not have the caramelized flavor of evaporated milk. The key differences between the two types of milk are consistency and sweetness.

If you want sweetness and thickness, go for condensed milk. But if you want just the creaminess, evaporated milk is the best option.

Additionally, while you can replace sweetened condensed milk with evaporated milk by adding sugar, it is not advisable to substitute evaporated milk with sweetened condensed milk.

Conclusion

Sweetened condensed milk is gluten-free. If you have gluten sensitivity, it’s okay to make condensed milk your choice for any recipe that requires sugar and cream. Most brands are gluten-free, but it’s okay if you want to double-check.

However, if you have a dairy allergy or lactose intolerance, you should not be taking sweetened condensed milk. Also, if you are trying to lose weight, sweetened condensed milk is a no-no for you because of the high calories, sugar, and fat content.

Thanks for reading.

If you’re eating gluten-free, Cheffist is the place to read the best guides to help you pick your meals.