If you love cooking and baking, then you’ll know you need vanilla extract somewhere in your cabinet. And if you are on a gluten-free diet, being sure what is in your food, snacks, or pastries is a must. So, is vanilla extract gluten-free?
Well, yes it is. Vanilla is naturally gluten-free. However, there are varying ingredients in a vanilla extract, which may or may not contain gluten. If you find yourself wondering about this just before you add vanilla extract to your baking, then this article is for you.
Find out what you need to know about vanilla extract being gluten-free and how it helps with your diet.
What Is Vanilla Extract?
Vanilla extract is a liquid concentration made by soaking vanilla pods with water and ethanol. The distilled extract brings out the vanillin (a compound in vanilla) and the vanilla flavor. This extract is added to pastries to give them a vanilla flavor.
Vanilla is mostly added to confectionaries like cakes, cupcakes, cookies, and other desserts. The extract also features some alcohol like vodkas and rums.
Is Vanilla Extract Gluten-Free?
Vanilla extract is gluten-free. The processed liquid does not contain any form of gluten. The vanilla bean itself is gluten-free because it is not a grain.
Furthermore, the extract is made through distillation with water and ethanol (alcohol). Therefore, it does not contain any form of gluten.
Is Artificial Vanilla Extract Gluten-Free?
Yes, it is. Artificial vanilla is a synthetic vanillin compound chemically made. It is created to imitate the taste of real vanilla; the flavoring is common. Nonetheless, artificial vanilla is gluten-free.
While there are other flavors that make up artificial vanilla, they do not have any form of gluten in them. Consequently, artificial vanilla extract is gluten-free and safe for people with gluten sensitivity.
Is Alcohol Vanilla Extract Gluten-Free?
Most pure vanilla extracts are made through a distillation process with alcohol (ethanol) and water. Therefore, most vanilla extracts have alcohol in them. However, they are gluten-free too.
Is Vanilla Extract Gluten-free and Dairy-Free?
Yes, it is. Vanilla extract is also dairy-free. The making process does not include adding any milk or dairy ingredients. This also applies to artificial vanilla flavors. Therefore, the extract is good for people who are on a gluten- and dairy-free diet.
Why Do You Need Gluten-Free Vanilla Extract?
You need gluten-free vanilla extract if you are on a gluten-free diet or have celiac disease, which inhibits people from taking gluten.
Being healthy, even though a matter of choice for some is important and you need to keep a strict diet once you start.
Furthermore, some people experience bloating or discomfort after taking foods with gluten. Therefore, they seek out gluten-free alternatives. Moreover, gluten allergen and sensitivity are real. As a result, being cautious with what you eat prevents the side effects of eating gluten from arising.
Are There Side Effects of Gluten-Free Vanilla Extract?
There are no side effects to taking the vanilla extract, except if you are allergic to vanilla itself. If you react to vanilla extract, it is best to stay away from it. People who have sensitivities to vanilla can suffer from simple to severe reactions, depending on how sensitive they are.
Consequently, while there is no side effect of taking the vanilla extract, there can be reactions if you are allergic to it.
Are pure and artificial vanilla extracts the same?
No, they are not. Pure vanilla extract comes from the distillation of vanilla pods, water, and ethanol (alcohol). Meanwhile, artificial vanilla extract is made in a laboratory with chemicals and synthetic vanillin.
Is vanilla extract vegan?
Yes, it is. Vanilla is vegan. It does not contain any form of animal products in its ingredient.
Are pure vanilla extract expensive?
Depends on the brand. Pure vanilla extract can be expensive due to the process of making even an ounce. Meanwhile, artificial is less expensive to make.
Therefore, you will find artificial vanilla extract much more common than pure extract. This in turn means artificial vanilla extract is much cheaper than pure vanilla extract.
Is vanilla extract healthy?
Yes, it is. Vanilla extract is healthy because it gives flavor to your confectionaries and pastries. It contains potassium and magnesium that help the bowels, kidneys, and heart function.
Additionally, it can help reduce high blood pressure if you use them as a sugar substitute. It also helps in controlling appetite due to its sweet taste.
Moreover, it helps provide antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties that fight bacteria in the body.
Vanilla extract is gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan. Therefore, it fits well in your confectionaries and meals. However, be sure that the other ingredients, especially the artificial extract do not contain gluten-infused ingredients.
Nonetheless, it is safe to use vanilla extract as much as you want if you are on a gluten-free diet. The spice would help in not only flavoring your food but also keeping you healthy.
Thanks for reading.
You can check more helpful articles on gluten-free foods here on Cheffist.