What Are Gluten-Free Beers – A Cheffist Analogy

Beer that is produced with millet, rice, sorghum, buckwheat, and corn, is called gluten-free beer.

Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. It’s also in many processed foods like bread, pasta, noodles, and cereals.‌

Gluten deficiency is often common in those who have celiac disease an autoimmune condition in which your body triggers an immune system response when you eat gluten.

Over time, this causes damage to the lining of your small intestines and prevents them from absorbing nutrients. 30% of the population carries the genes that cause celiac disease, but only a small number of people with this RNA component have the ailment.

What Are Gluten-Free Beers Made From

Made from grains such as oats, rice, maize, teff, millet, buckwheat, quinoa, amaranth, and sorghum, some manufacturers use barley or rye and reduce the level of gluten to below 20 ppm.

This is achieved using enzymes such as clarex, which breaks down gluten proteins in beer.

Gluten-Free Beer Ingredients

Brewers produce gluten-free beer using the following:

  • Sorghum
  • Rice
  • Buckwheat
  • Millet etc.

SEE: Why Beer Is Called Liquid Bread

Gluten Levels in the Beer Chart

The gluten level in a beer largely depends on how the beer was made, most especially the grain from which the beer is made.

Therefore, a beer chart shows the raw materials used in making a beer. If you drink a beer made of the following here are the gluten levels for each.

  • Ales – 3,120 ppm
  • Wheat beer – 25,920 ppm
  • Lager – 63 ppm
  • Stout – 361 ppm

How Is Gluten-Free Beer Made

A brewer can produce gluten-free beer in two ways. First, the brewer can use malt from naturally gluten-free pseudo-cereals such as sorghum, millet, buckwheat, rice, quinoa, or maize. This may affect the aroma and flavor of the beer but would give the desired outcome.

The second technique is the use of an enzyme during production that can reduce the gluten content of malt to 20 ppm or less.

What Beers Are Gluten-Free in the US

Here is a compilation of some of the gluten-free beers made in the USA. You can search for other brands on amazon or ask at any of the convenience stores around you. 

Evasion brewing Oregon, USA

The company produces fresh gluten-free beers in different flavors. You can check online and in stores to get one of the beer flavors of your choice.

Ghostfish Brewing company

This is a beer company based in Washington, USA. The beers are healthy and come in different varieties such as Grapefruit IPA, Watchstander Stout, Vanishing Point Pale Ale, Shrouded Summit Witbier, Peak Buster Imperial IPA etcetera.

Holidaily brewing co.

Based in Colorado, USA, Holidaily Brewing Company is a large producer of gluten-free beers.

They make beers in different essences, such as Favorite Blonde Ale, Buckwit Belgian, Red Rocks Amber Theatre, Fat Randy’s IPA, Wild Bill’s Nonbarley Wine, Riva Stout, Patchy Waters Pumpkin Ale, Beulah Red Ale, Adventure Series: Vienna Lager, Oreo Cookie Stout, Big Henry Hazy IPA.

Living the dream brewing company

Living the Dream Brewing Company, located in Colorado, USA, makes beers that are rich in flavor but easy on the stomach of gluten-intolerant people.

Alt brew

Alt brew, Wisconsin, USA, produces gluten-free beers manufactured in a 100% gluten-free facility with no additives.

B.C. brewery

Situated in Maryland, USA, B.C. brewery is a manufacturer of gluten-free beer across Maryland. They are the makers of Ceal Team Pale Ale, Ceal Team Amber Ale, Ceal Team Belgian Quad, Ceal Team Saison, Ceal Team Blonde, Ceal Team Cantaloupe Sour, Ceal Team Stout, Ceal Team Session IPA

Anheuser-Busch

Known for its Redbridge Lager, Anheuser-Busch is a brewing company in Missouri, the USA, that manufactures gluten-free beer.

SEE: Is Budweiser Light Gluten-Free?

Aurochs brewing company

Manufactured in Pennsylvania, USA, Aurochs brewing company are makers of gluten-free beers. They are the makers of Session IPA, Porter, Blonde Ale, Amber Ale, Hazy IPA, Light Lager, and Winter Ale.

Bard’s tale beer

It is one of the breweries in Minnesota, USA, that is recognized for making gluten-free Bard’s Gold lager.

Buck wild brewing

When you visit California, look out for Buck Wild brewing products if you are prone to react to beer that has gluten in it.

These beers are gluten-free and good. They have numerous variations like Pale Ale, Kolsch, Amber, and West Coast IPA that you can choose from to avoid getting a gluten-induced beer.

Coors

This is also a gluten-free beer brand you can try if you live in Colorado, USA.

SEE: Are Rice Cakes Gluten-Free? A Comprehensive Manual

FAQs

Is beer gluten-free?

No, it is not. Beer has gluten in it therefore anyone who is lactose deficient should not take it.

First enjoyed by the Mesopotamians thousands of years ago (some 8,000 years ago) with bread, beer today, contains gluten. This means that people who can’t eat gluten need to steer clear of beers made from barley and wheat.

Gluten-removed beers are made from what?

Grains that have a lot of gluten in them are used to make beer. As a result, the gluten isn’t as removed as it is termed to be.

SEE: What Is a Lactose-Free Milk? How It Defers From Regular Milk

Are gluten-free beers low carb?

Although not common, you will find that there are gluten-free beers with low carbs. They are majorly for people who are gluten deficient and have celiac disease.

Nonetheless, one of the most common types of low-carb gluten-free beer is the Omission Ultimate Light beer.

What IPA beers are gluten-free?

Brewers make India pale ale by adding more hops to their beer, which results in a stronger flavor. There is no standardized threshold at which beer is considered an IPA – it depends on the brewer.

What does gluten-free beer taste like?

It tastes like Hoegaarden Belgian white ale because it is naturally made of chestnuts, buckwheat, and millet.

Conclusion

There are three major types of beers, which are standard beers, reduced gluten beer, and gluten-free beer. If you have a gluten deficiency, you should always go for a gluten-free beer. However, this isn’t easy to achieve because of the many delicious and fast-making foods and drinks with gluten in them.

Nevertheless, health is wealth, and you need to ensure that you do everything possible not to trigger your health condition.

Thank you for reading.

If you enjoyed reading this article, view Cheffist for more.