Are Chipotle Chips Gluten-Free? You Need to See This

Chipotle is one of those restaurants that consider customers’ diets. For instance, you can always let a waiter know that you’re gluten intolerant while you make your order. Most of the items on the Chipotle menu are gluten-free and this includes the chips.

If you’re gluten intolerant, you want to cross-examine the ingredients in your favorite snack before you take a bite. So, before you decide to become a regular at Chipotle, read this.

What Are Chipotle Chips?

Chipotle is an American chain of restaurants that serve Mexican cuisine. The name was coined from the Nahuatl name for smoked jalapeno pepper, chipotle. Chipotle is known for its burritos and tacos. However, their chips also come out nice and are suitable for people on a gluten-free diet.

These restaurants offer a menu that is free of ingredients that are likely to trigger allergies. Chipotle does not use eggs, shellfish, fish, peanuts, and tree nuts in any of their food. This way, you can be sure that your meals are free from any allergens.

In addition, Chipotle is the place to visit if you’re looking for a gluten-free menu. Almost all their meals and sides are gluten-free.

SEE: Find Out Why the Delicious Chipotle Mexican Grill Menu Is Just for You

Are Chipotle Chips Gluten-Free?

Yes, Chipotle chips are gluten-free. The restaurant chain makes its tortilla chips from corn. However, the company has a disclaimer that the chips may have trace amounts of gluten because they are exposed to cross-contamination when they are handled alongside gluten-containing grains.

For this reason, Chipotle welcomes your concerns about your gluten intolerance, the way your meal is prepared, and how it is served. For instance, you can ask for a waiter with clean hands or ask that they change their gloves before preparing your meal.

Chipotle chips are made of cornflour, sunflower oil, lime juice, kosher salt, and water.

SEE: How Long After Tooth Extraction Can You Eat Chips?

Are Chipotle Chips Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free?

Chipotle chips are gluten-free and dairy-free. Although they use cheese and sour cream (which are dairy products) to make most of their sides, their chips are an exception.

Therefore, if you have a dairy allergy alongside gluten intolerance, Chipotle chips are safe for you to eat.

SEE: Find Out if Protein Bars Are a Healthy Choice for a Gluten-Free Diet

Are Chipotle Chips Gluten-Free and Vegan?

Chipotle chips are gluten-free and vegan. They do not contain any dairy products, which suggest animal origin. They are therefore certified vegan friendly.

Are Chipotle Chips Healthy?

Although your palate will find Chipotle chips appetizing, they aren’t the best choice if you’re very concerned about your health. Chipotle chips contain high amounts of calories and unsaturated fats.

Per serving, Chipotle chips contain 540 calories, the total carbohydrate stands at 73 grams, 25 grams of fat, and 390 grams of sodium.

Additionally, these high levels of calories, fat, and sodium is a result of the making process. The deep-frying and repeated tossing in lime and kosher salt increase the level of nutrients which is consequently harmful to the health.

SEE: Read This to Know If AirHeads Candies Are Safe for Your Gluten Sensitivity

Are There Side Effects of Eating Chipotle Chips?

Overeating Chipotle chips can cause nausea, water retention, dehydration, bloating, increased blood pressure, and excessive weight gain. Moreover, it can predispose you to heart diseases and hypertension.

SEE: Gluten-Free Flours You Didn’t Know Are Just Good as Wheat Flour

Homemade Gluten-Free Chipotle Chips Recipe

If you’re very concerned about what goes into your gluten intolerant system, you can make your Chipotle chips at home with this recipe. This recipe makes 20-25 servings.


  • 6 corn tortillas of 5 ½ inches in diameter
  • 1 teaspoon of kosher or margarita salt
  • 1/8 cup of freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 1 cup of sunflower oil for deep frying


  • Arrange the corn tortillas into a neat and uniform stack
  • Then, use a sharp knife to cut them into triangles
  • Pour the oil into a clean saucepan such that it is ½ inch deep. Allow the oil to heat at medium-high heat. When it’s hot enough, turn it down to medium-low heat
  • Then, begin to fry the tortillas in batches of 10 or 15, depending on how deep or wide the pan is
  • When the tortillas have fried well take them out and drain the oil in clean paper towels
  • Thereafter, while still hot, sprinkle salt and lime juice over the tortillas
  • Also, you can choose to toss the chips in a bowl with the salt and lime juice (like Chipotle does)
  • Use the salt and lime juice as you want
  • Serve your homemade Chipotle chips with any dip of your choice

SEE: Here’s How to Get a Free Biscuit at Biscuitville


Does Chipotle serve flour or corn tortillas?

Chipotle serves both tortillas, what you order depends on your preferences and diet. If you’re on a gluten-free diet, stay off the flour tortillas.

Does Chipotle tortilla chips contain wheat?

If you’re ordering Chipotle’s flour tortillas, you may be exposed to gluten because the flour may be made from wheat or may have been cross-contaminated. If you’re gluten-sensitive, stick to corn tortillas.

Does Chipotle offer vegan options?

Yes, it does. Chipotle’s menu is vegan-friendly. Aside from salad and burritos, Chipotle offers a vegan bowl containing chorizo, tomato salsa, black beans, cilantro-lime brown rice, corn salsa, and shredded lettuce.

What salt is used on Chipotle chips?

Chipotle uses kosher salt on their chips. But for a homemade recipe, you may use margarita salt.


If you’re gluten intolerant, Chipotle is the next place to get gluten-free meals. However, because some of the items on their menu are made with flour, you stand a risk of cross-contamination with gluten. But it’s not a cause for alarm if you speak up.

Avoid flour tortillas. Let the waiter attending to you know about your intolerance. If you settle all these on your order, you can have Chipotle tortilla corn chips without fear of gluten.

Thanks for reading.

On a gluten-free diet? Visit Cheffist to read related articles that provide relevant information on what and what not to eat on a gluten-free diet.