Many people often wonder are pringles gluten-free? The short answer to that is no, and why is that would be what this article will help you understand.
That you might think Pringles are made from potatoes doesn’t make it so! If you’re gluten-intolerant, you might decide to buy a pack or two—but this article may tell you otherwise.
What Are Pringles?
Pringle is a potato-based chip. It is specially made with dehydrated processed potatoes with other food such as wheat, rice, and corn.
These crips are made from dried potatoes, vegetable oil, wheat starch, cornstarch, rice flour, de-germinated yellow corn flour, maltodextrin, and mono- and diglycerides.
Pringles was introduced in 1968 as stackable potato chips produced by Kellogg’s. This potato-derived snack remains a popular choice for many Americans and individuals around the world.
In 2011, Pringles had reached more than 140 countries and ranked the fourth most popular snack after Lay’s, Doritos, and Cheetos
Furthermore, the potato chip gained a 2.2% market share globally which further made it a global hot cake.
How Are Pringles Made?
The simple recipe for making Pringles begins with a mixture of 1/3 water, 2/3 potato flakes, and cornstarch. The mixture is then pressed and rolled into a thin sheet with 4 tons of pressure and cut into circles using a punch. The scraps are recycled back into the chip-making process.
Although this looks easy to the description, to make some pringles for yourself may be quite tasking especially if you do not have all the season and additives that the brad originally uses.
Pringles Nutritional Facts
Pringles Potato Chips provide 150 calories and nine grams of fat per 28g serving, which contains 17g of carbohydrate (1g of sugar and 1g of dietary fiber), seven grams of protein, and 2.5g of saturated fat, vitamin A, vitamin C, iron, calcium, and no cholesterol.
Are Pringles Gluten-Free?
Unfortunately, pringles are not gluten-free. The potato chip is not considered gluten-free, and as such, is not good for people with celiac disease.
The FDA allows foods labeled “gluten-free” to contain up to 20 parts per million of gluten. However, for some people, even the smallest amount of gluten can cause health problems. Pringles does not label their chips as gluten-free, so it’s hard to say if they contain any gluten or not.
Consequently, it would be best to stay away from pringles if you are gluten defective.
Are Sour Cream and Onion Pringles Gluten-Free?
No, it is not. Labeled on the container of the Pringles, Sour Cream & Onion, it states that it contains wheat starch. Wheat starch is gluten potent, making the sour cream and onion flavor not free of gluten.
Can You Get Any Pringles That Are Gluten-Free?
No, no pringles flavor is gluten-free. You must remember that pringles in made with a dried potato and a lot of additives. It is not real food that you should be too perturbed about because it’s rather unhealthy.
Therefore, you cannot find any of the different types of Pringles that are gluten-free. They all have wheat starch and other gluten-induced components.
SEE: Are Rice Cakes Gluten-Free?
What Happens if You Eat Too Many Pringles?
Eating a lot of chips can lead to headaches, inflammation, dry skin, and weight gain.
Other long-term side effects of eating a lot of pringles are stroke, heart failure, coronary heart disease, and kidney disease.
This however is not a proven fact but a deduction by some medical practitioners.
Is There a Gluten-Free Pringles Alternative?
Yes, there is. Although this is mostly made with real potatoes and not many preservatives, they are gluten-free.
Brands like Cape Cod potato chips, Eats Mart Naturals potato chips, Food Should Taste Good chips, Frito-Lay brand chips, and many other gluten-free chips you can check online.
Are Pringles Healthy?
Pringles are not actual food; therefore, they aren’t intentionally jam-packed with ingredients that aim to keep you healthy.
Furthermore, the nutrients that should come with the snack have been highly processed, making it contain more fat and additives. These essences bare more than just simple add-ons; they are kept in the snack to trigger the brain to crave more and more.
If you are longing for some potato chips, it would be best you make them yourself. This way, they are not overly proceeded and packed with unhealthy components.
Are salt and vinegar pringles gluten-free?
No, Pringles are not gluten-free and are not recommended for someone with celiac disease.
Do well to always read the labels and ingredients of any potato chips you buy, overlooking the brand before inducing in them.
Many brands would not outrightly state if their products are gluten-free or not. However, it is left to you who is gluten deficient to always check if it is good to eat.
SEE: Is Crème Brûlée Gluten-Free and Vegan Friendly?
Can you eat pringles occasionally?
Yes, you can. You would not become unhealthy when you take pringles infrequently. Too much of it is what is bad, but having some when the craving comes wouldn’t hurt.
However, only people who don’t have celiac or gluten-related issues can eat this snack occasionally. If you do not fall into this bracket, it would be best to stay clear of pringles as they are not safe for you.
Is pringles vegan friendly?
Only Original, Wavy Salted, Lightly Salted, and Reduced Fat Original Pringles flavors are vegan. So, when in doubt, look for the word “original” or “salted”.
Also, you can visit the company website to check if there are any more vegan familiar pringles that you can eat.
Can pringles make you fat?
If you eat an unhealthy amount of pringles with careless abandon, you will mostly add a lot of fat. This is also because pringles contain 2.5 times more saturated fat per serving, a worse type of fat.
You would think that pringles being among the go-to options for potato chips would be 100% potato. Moreover, being widely sought after would be considered as to making modifications by producing several variations that can fit into the diet of others or people who are suffering from allergy or gluten difficulties.
However, this isn’t so, which makes it imperative for anyone that is gluten sensitive to constantly be vigilant about the type of potato chips you eat and most especially staying away from pringles as they are not gluten-free.
There’s nothing wrong with eating Pringles potato chips often. Nonetheless, you have to keep in mind that it is not gluten-free. Consequently, eat if you will not experience any adverse effects or stick to gluten-free alternatives.
Thanks for reading.
If you enjoyed reading this article, view Cheffist for more.