Subway Allergen Menu Just Got Updated – Check It Out

If you’re interested in ordering off the Subway allergen menu and wondering what options are available, this article is for you.

It’s really amazing to know that the biggest of brands and businesses can care about their customers enough to make some changes in the way their foods are made.

After all, this is an allergy-filled world we live in, so every little bit of change helps. Interestingly, Subway has updated its menu lately to highlight food with one or more allergens in them.

So, the purpose of this article is to give you the complete list of all the items with allergens or glutens on the Subway allergen menu.

Ready? Let’s get to it.

About Subway

Subway is a fast-food sandwich chain, founded by Fred DeLuca and Peter Buck in 1965. It is owned and operated by Doctor’s Associates Inc., (DAI), headquartered in Milford Connecticut, United States.

You can visit Subway for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and everything in between. With over 37,000 locations across the world, Subway is one of the most popular submarine sandwich chains.

The restaurant menu includes varieties of dishes freshly prepared with quality ingredients. Menu items such as salads, sandwiches, baked goods, and cookies are made fresh on a daily.

In addition, if you have food allergies, Subway makes its menu list easy for you to see food that contains one or more allergens. With that, you will know what to order and what not to.

SEE: How To Eat For Free At Subway

What time does Subway open for business?

Subway opens for business at 8 am every day of the week. However, this may not be the case for all Subway locations.

Subway Allergen Menu - Cheffist

Since the restaurant has outlets at different locations, the opening time might vary slightly by location. Even though Subway stops taking orders at 9 pm, some locations might extend their operation time into the late night.

Due to this variation in the operation hours across Subway locations, I strongly advise you to check in with your local restaurant.

What are the items on the Subway allergen menu?

The allergen menu at Subway carries food prepared with one or more allergens. So with that, you can easily spot menu items that are not safe for you.

Without much ado, below are the items on the Subway allergen menu according to the restaurant food categories.

Breads & Wraps

  • Artisan Italian – white (Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Hearty Multigrain (Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Flatbread, Artisan x (Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Wrap, Spinach (Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Wrap, Tomato Basil (Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Italian Herbs and Cheese (Milk, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)

Local/Regional Breads

  • Gluten-Free (as packaged) (Egg)
  • Sourdough (Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Jalapeno Cheddar (Milk, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten, Sulfites)
  • Monterey Cheddar (Milk, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Parmesan Oregano (Milk, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)

SEE: Wendy’s Allergen Menu: Foods Not Safe For You

Meat, Poultry, Seafood & Eggs

  • Bacon Strips (Added Nitrites/Nitrates)
  • Grilled Chicken (Soybeans)
  • Cold Cut Combo Meats (Added Nitrites/Nitrates)
  • Egg Omelet Patty – Regular (Egg, Soybeans)
  • Egg White Omelet Patty (Egg, Soybeans)
  • Genoa Salami (Added Nitrites/Nitrates)
  • Ham – Black Forest (Added Nitrites/Nitrates)
  • Italian BMT Meats (Added Nitrites/Nitrates)
  • Meatballs & Marinara (Milk, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten, )
  • Pepperoni (Added Nitrites/Nitrates)
  • Rotisserie-Style Chicken (Soybeans)
  • Spicy Italian Meats (Added Nitrites/Nitrates)
  • Steak (Soybeans)
  • Tuna Salad (Egg, Fish)
  • Turkey Breast (Soybeans)
  • Grilled Chicken – Teriyaki Glazed (Sesame, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)

Local/Regional Meats Protein

  • Eggs, Cage-Free (Egg, Soybeans)
  • Egg Whites, Cage-Free (Egg)
  • Pastrami (Added Nitrites/Nitrates)
  • Veggie Patty (Soybeans)

SEE: The Latest Jimmy John’s Allergen Menu

Cheese

  • Parmesan (Milk)
  • Pepperjack (Milk, Soybeans)
  • Provolone (Milk)
  • American, Processed (Milk, Soybeans)
  • BelGioioso Fresh Mozzarella (Milk)
  • Monterey Cheese Blend, Shredded (Milk)

Condiments & Dressings

  • Caesar Sauce (Egg, Fish, Milk, Soybeans)
  • Chipotle Southwest Sauce (Egg, Milk, Soybeans)
  • Mayonnaise Light (Egg, Soybeans)
  • Creamy Srircha (Egg, Soybeans)
  • Mayonnaise, Regular (Egg, Soybeans)
  • Peppercorn Ranch Sauce (Egg, Milk, Soybeans)
  • Ranch Sauce (Egg, Milk, Soybeans)
  • Red Wine Vinegar (Sulfites)
  • Sweet Onion Teriyaki Sauce (Sesame, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)

SEE: Buffalo Wild Wings Allergen Menu: Updated Version

Vegetables

  • Banana Peppers (Sulfites)
  • Jalapeno Pepper Slices (Sulfites)

Soups

  • Beef Chili with Beans (Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Broccoli & Cheddar (Milk, Soybeans)
  • Chicken Noodle (Egg, Milk, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Loaded Baked Potato (Milk, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten, Added Nitrites/Nitrates)

Cookies & Desserts

The item below contains Egg, Milk, Peanuts, Soybeans, Tree Nuts, Wheat, and Gluten.

  • Cookie, Chocolate Chip
  • Cookie, Oatmeal Raisin
  • Cookie, Raspberry Cheesecake
  • Cookie, White Chip Macadamia Nut

SEE: Chick-fil-A Allergen Menu: What Tasty Meal Is Safe For You?

Local/Regional Cookies & Desserts

  • Brownie (Egg, Milk, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Brownie, Gluten-Free (Egg)
  • Cinnamon Rolls (Milk, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Muffin, Banana Bread (Egg, Milk, Soybeans, Tree Nuts, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Muffin, Blueberry Crumb (Egg, Milk, Soybeans, Tree Nuts, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Muffin, Chocolate Chunk (Egg, Milk, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Muffin, Triple Berry (Egg, Milk, Soybeans, Wheat, Gluten)
  • Muffin, Apple Cinnamon Pecan (Egg, Milk, Soybeans, Tree Nuts, Wheat, Gluten)

Note: This list is for the Subway restaurants in the United States. Therefore, the allergen menu at Subway in the UK or in other countries might be different from the one above.

SEE: Longhorn Allergen Menu: Delicious Meals And Their Allergen Information

Does Subway serve breakfast in the morning?

Subway serves breakfast all day, every day. In other words, it doesn’t matter which day or time you visit in as much Subway is open, you can always grab a breakfast meal.

However, the Subway breakfast menu only contains a few items. Therefore, you might not find your favorites on the menu.

Items on the Subway breakfast menu include:

  • Bacon, Egg & Cheese (wrap)
  • Black Forest Ham, Egg & Cheese (wrap)
  • Egg & Cheese (wrap)
  • Steak, Egg & Cheese (wrap)

Unlike Arby’s which has an allergen breakfast menu, you will have to ask your server to confirm your breakfast meal does not contain allergens.

SEE: Sonic Breakfast Menu: Delicious Meals To Start Your Day With

FAQs

Does Subway bread have eggs?

Yes, eggs are one of the major ingredients used in baking Subway bread. Therefore, if you’re allergic to eggs, you may want to stay away from bread when you visit Subway.

Are Subway cookies vegetarian?

Subway cookies are not vegetarian because they contain dairy. Even their brownies and many of the soups available have dairy in them.

Does Subway have gluten-free sauces?

Yes, all sauces at Subway are made from gluten-containing ingredients. Nevertheless, there’s an exception which is the Sweet Onion Teriyaki Sauce. That’s the only Subway sauce that contains gluten.

Is Subway allergen menu in the UK the same as the one in the US?

Subway allergen menu in the UK is slightly different from the one in the US because there are some local/regional items on the individual menu.

SEE: The Updated Bojangles Allergen Menu

Conclusion

I think Subway has taken significant steps in the right direction toward proving to consumers that they are committed to limiting the number of allergens they bring into contact with their food.

With the creation of their allergen menu, Subway is taking a step towards creating a healthier dining environment for those who suffer from allergies.

At least, with the list of food items in this article, now you know what is safe and what is not at Subway.

I must say, some of the items on Subway are not totally gluten-free due to cross-contact contamination during preparation. Such items are not included in this article.

Therefore, I urge you to confirm the nutrition information of every food you choose to order at Subway restaurant.

I hope you found this article helpful. If you do, you should also check out what Arby’s, TGI Fridays, and Five Guys have for you on their allergen menu.

Thank you for reading.