Is Almond Milk Gluten-Free? What You Need to Know

Almond milk is one of the most popular plant-based milk in the US. It is known for its nutritional content and its benefits. The milk is also a common substitute for traditional dairy milk. However, it is important to know if almond milk is gluten-free. 

This article will enlighten you on what almond milk is, whether or not it is gluten-free and the health benefits you can enjoy from the milk. 

SEE: Are Doritos Gluten-Free?

What Is Almond Milk?

Almond milk is plant milk popularly used instead of traditional dairy milk. The milk is made from almonds and the process involves the toasting and grinding of almonds with filtered water. The liquid is strained to remove solids and create a smooth texture. 

Almond milk has a pleasant, nutty flavor and a creamy texture that is similar the traditional milk. You can always find them available in the health food section at a supermarket. 

Naturally, almonds contain several vitamins and nutrients while other vitamins are added. Most brands that produce almond milk claim that it only contains non-GMO ingredients. This is one of the reasons why almond milk is common in vegan and celiac diets. 

SEE: Are Ruffles Gluten-Free?

Is Almond Milk Gluten-Free?

Almond milk naturally doesn’t contain gluten. Therefore, so it’s safe to say that it is gluten-free. Most commercial almond milk brands are gluten-free as well. One way to recognize gluten-free commercial almond milk is by checking if it has a gluten-free label. 

Some commercial almond milk, especially the flavored ones, is more likely to contain gluten due to the additives. Therefore, be sure to always check for the gluten-free label on any commercial milk you purchase. 

Since natural almond milk is gluten-free as it is free from gluten, lactose, and dairy. Therefore, it is considered safe for you if you are vegan, have a dairy allergy, gluten, or lactose intolerance. 

Is Chocolate Almond Milk Gluten-Free?

Yes, it is. Popular chocolate almond milk brands like Almond Dream, Pacific Foods, and Almond Breeze produce certified gluten-free chocolate almond milk. This means that the chocolate milk from these companies tests for less than 20ppm of gluten. 

Thankfully, the chocolate milk from the aforementioned companies is safe for all and gluten-free. However, some other brands of chocolate milk may contain ingredients that may trigger side effects and allergic reactions for you if you have severe sensitivity to gluten or lactose. 

This may not be because the milk contains gluten. However, they might have been processed in a way that gives room for cross-contamination with gluten to happen. 

Therefore, ensure that any chocolate or other flavored almond milk you purchase has a gluten-free label on it.

Why Do You Need Almond Milk in Your Diet?

One of the many reasons you need almond milk in your diet is the fact that it is the safest option for you if you have food allergies and intolerance to gluten. Almond milk naturally doesn’t contain dairy, gluten, and other food proteins that can trigger allergic reactions. 

The benefits of milk are another reason you need it in your diet. Below are some of the benefits you can get from drinking almond milk.

1. Nutritional content

Most commercial almond milk contains vitamin D, calcium, and protein that can benefit the health. Naturally, almond is rich in several vitamins and minerals. The vitamin E content of almond milk makes it have similar nutritional value to regular milk. 

2. Low-calorie content

Commercial almond milk has a low-calorie content despite the calorie content of almonds. You can drink as much commercial almond milk as you want without worrying about unwanted weight gain. 

The fat content in commercial almond milk is just about 1%, as producers of the milk dilute it with water. This makes it on the same level as regular low-fat milk. A cup of almond milk doesn’t contain up to half the amount of calories in skim milk. 

However, not all brands produce their milk this way. Therefore, Be sure to check the nutrient label of almond milk before buying.

SEE: Does Almond Milk Have Estrogen?

3. Dairy-free ingredients

Almond milk doesn’t contain any animal products such as cow’s milk. This makes it a great choice for your vegan diet and lactose intolerance or allergy. The last dairy in almond milk also means it is free from lactose and won’t cause any side effects when you drink it.

Are there Side Effects of Gluten-Free Almond Milk?

Although almond milk is gluten-free and dairy-free, you may experience side effects from it if you have an almond allergy. It is not safe for you to drink if you have an almond allergy. 

Additionally, some commercial almond milk producers may use facilitates that contain coconut to process the milk. This allows cross-contamination to happen. Be sure to check the ingredients in an almond milk product to avoid other ingredients you may be allergic to.

SEE: Best Companies That Will Pay You to Eat

Gluten-Free Almond Milk Recipe


  • 4 cups of filtered water
  • 1 cup of raw almonds
  • 4 pitted organic dates
  • ¼ teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • A dash of salt


  • Pour all the ingredients into a high-speed blender or juicer
  • Blend the ingredients on medium speed for about 2 minutes 
  • Increase the speed after 2 minutes and keep blending for one more minute
  • After the extra minute, pour out the blended ingredients into a cheesecloth
  • Strain the milk from the cloth into a glass container
  • Store the milk in a refrigerator

This recipe is delicious and has a slight hint of sweetness. It can last up to 5 days in a refrigerator.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Starbucks almond milk gluten-free?

Yes, it is. Even Starbucks is not always the first option when it comes to getting gluten-free drinks, their almond milk is gluten-free. This makes it a safe place to go for gluten-free almond milk drinks and other gluten-free beverages. 

However, be careful with the Starbucks almond milk drink as they have soy milk and coconut milk at some locations. This increases the chances of cross-contamination during the preparation process.

Is Alpro almond milk gluten-free?

Yes, it is. Alpro almond milk is naturally lactose-free, gluten-free, and dairy-free. This makes it safe for you to drink on a sensitive stomach if you have gluten intolerance and sensitivity to lactose.

Is Aldi almond milk gluten-free?

Yes, it is. The SimplyNature Organic Unsweetened Almond milk available at ALDI is a gluten-free beverage that contains no dairy, soy, or GMO ingredients. This means is free from ingredients and food proteins that can trigger allergic reactions and side effects.


Almond milk is a versatile and a great alternative to regular milk for you if you are vegan or have a high sensitivity to gluten. If you find yourself looking out for gluten-free milk to use in your diet, this is a good one for you. 

Almond milk is naturally gluten-free and safe for you except if you are allergic to almonds. The milk is also lactose- and dairy-free, making us a healthy alternative for you if you have celiac disease. Be sure to check for the gluten-free label on commercial almond milk before buying. 

Thanks for reading.

Visit Cheffist to discover more gluten-free foods and beverages that are safe for you.