Delicious, creamy, and filling, Hershey’s kisses is an infamous chocolate brand in the USA. And it is the go-to option for many locals and newcomers, but are Hershey’s kisses gluten-free.
Hershey’s has got a lot of flavors with different ingredients made to cater to everyone. Nevertheless, are these flavors safe for those who are gluten intolerant?
Can a person with celiac disease eat one of these treats without getting health complications or a visit to the hospital?
Follow this article to the end to find out if Hershey’s kisses are a good choice for people who are gluten sensitive.
What Are Hershey’s Kisses?
It is a chocolate milk sweet that is shaped like a teardrop.
The foil-wrapped chocolate is shaped differently than its competitors to distinguish Hershey’s Kiss from different brands around. They first came about in 1907 and were originally designated as “Hershey’s” brand.
It is one of the most popular brands of candies in the USA and has ranked 5th since 1989.
There are more than seventy million Hershey’s kisses chocolates manufactured each day across its two factories. Consequently, there are numerous varieties available in the market.
Hershey’s Kisses Nutritional Facts
In a pack of Hershey’s kisses, you will get a lot of calories, which is good for the body and aid in building the muscles.
In addition to that, the chocolate also contains saturated fat 0.8ggrams, cholesterol 1mgmilligram, sodium 3.3mgmilligrams, and potassium 16mgmilligrams.
It also possesses carbohydrates 2.5ggrams, dietary fiber 0.1ggrams, sugars 2.2ggrams, protein 0.3ggrams, vitamin A and C, calcium, and iron.
It is riddled with a lot of mineral nutrients, and it is also good for people with low sugar levels.
What Are Hershey’s Kisses Made Of?
The sugar in a Hershey’s kiss is made from sugar cane, while the milk in a Hershey’s kiss is a mix of cream and milk.
The chocolate in a Hershey’s kiss is made with cocoa beans, cocoa butter, and sugar. The lecithin in a Hershey’s kiss helps the chocolate ingredients blend. The natural flavor in a Hershey’s kiss comes from vanilla beans.
Are Hershey’s Kisses Gluten-Free?
Yes, they are. Hershey’s kisses have been deemed free of gluten as stated by the manufacturer.
The company posits that it makes use of gluten-free ingredients to make the one specifically without gluten.
Therefore, you will come across some of these flavors at stores, although you need to be sure it is the right one you have bought.
To find out which is gluten-free, you should check Hershey’s website lists to identify the kisses that are without gluten, including the original flavors and many others.
Is Hershey’s Vampire Chocolate Gluten-Free?
Yes, it is. Hershey’s kisses Vampire Milk Chocolate Candy is not made with any gluten-containing ingredients, therefore, making it free of gluten and harmless to eat.
Are Hershey’s Kisses Hugs Gluten-Free?
Hershey’s Hugs Chocolates and Milk Chocolate Hugged by white crème are one of the variations from the gluten-free company.
It is free of gluten and a good choice too.
Are Hershey’s Cereal Gluten-Free?
Hershey’s Kisses Cereal does not contain wheat or soy, which makes it gluten-free.
However, this is not independently recognized as a gluten-free product, even though the cereal is corn-based, consisting primarily of whole grain corn and cornmeal in addition to various sugars.
Are Hershey’s Kisses Dairy-Free?
No, they are not. That Hershey’s kisses are gluten-free does not take out the fact that it is made with dairy gotten from animals.
Therefore, you should note that kisses are not dairy-free. If you have a diary problem, it is best to stay away from Hershey’s Kisses or find other brands that have dairy-free chocolate options.
Are Hershey’s Kisses Healthy?
That Hershey’s kisses have good nutritional facts doesn’t mean it is healthy.
You should know that kisses are high in sugar and fat, which can be harmful to your health if not eaten moderately.
They contain 31 percent and 28 percent of your daily recommended value of nutrients respectively. Kisses don’t offer much in terms of important nutrients such as proteins, vitamins, or minerals.
Which Hershey’s Chocolate Are Gluten-Free?
Hershey’s kisses have a lot of varieties that it may be hard to keep up with the ones that are gluten-free and the one that is not.
Here are a few of the gluten-free Hershey’s kisses you can buy. To get the full list you should check the company website.
- Kisses milk chocolate
- Milk chocolate with almond
- Giant Hershey’s kiss
- Kisses special dark mildly sweet chocolate
- Kisses hug chocolate
- Hugs candy (All varieties)
- Kisses milk chocolate filled with caramel
- Meltaway milk chocolate
- Kisses air delight aerated milk chocolate
- Traditional silver-wrapped Hershey’s kisses
- Plain milk chocolate Hershey’s kisses
- Kisses filled with cherry cordial creme
- Mint dark chocolate truffle-flavored kisses
- Special dark “mildly sweet” kisses (Note that Hershey’s special dark candy bars are not considered gluten-free)
- Candy cane flavored mint candy
- Mini kisses milk chocolate chips
What Are the Hershey’s Candy Flavors With Gluten?
The majority of Hershey’s products contain gluten. Consequently, you need to watch out for these products as it is not safe for you to eat them.
- Milk chocolate kisses with almonds
- Cookies ‘n creme kisses
- Rose filled milk chocolate meltaway
- Strawberry ice cream cone kisses
- Birthday cake kisses
- Hot cocoa candy kisses
- Sugar cookie white creme candy kisses
- Valentine’s lava cake dark chocolate candy
- Vampire foils milk chocolate filled with strawberry
Are Hershey’s kisses celiac-friendly?
Yes, they are. The company has incorporated ingredients that are without gluten to accommodate those with celiac disease and others who are suffering from gluten complications
If you fall into this category, you should read through the list of the gluten-free kisses you can eat in this article, and you should also visit the company’s website for more options.
Is Hershey’s peppermint gluten-free?
No, they are not. If you find that any other flavor doesn’t make the list of the kisses that are gluten-free you would do well to avoid such kisses.
Does Hershey’s caramel syrup have caffeine?
Yes, they do. Hershey’s caramel syrup is a sister product of the company that you can use with coffee or cocoa. Two tablespoons of Hershey’s syrup contain 7mg of caffeine.
Is Hershey’s lava gluten-free?
Yes, Hershey’s lava kisses are gluten-free. However, you should always check the label to be sure.
Is Hershey’s chocolate vegan?
No, they are not. This is because a vegan diet means no dairy products or animal meat. But Hershey’s kisses are made with milk which is a dairy by-product, therefore, cannot be included in a vegan diet.
It’s so very easy to mix up the different Hershey’s kisses due to the different types of chocolate the company produces. Nonetheless, it should be at the back of your mind especially if you have gluten issues to be a step ahead by ensuring that the type you have bought is lacking gluten.
Hershey’s has made it so that no one is starved of its threats and confectionaries. However, it is good that you remember that these kisses do not accommodate a vegan diet nor are they vegan friendly.
In addition, you should always know for certain what you’ve got before you take a eat to prevent health attacks.
Thank you for reading.
If you enjoyed reading this article, view Cheffist for more.